Scalable PHP apps, benchmarking in a VM lab

nry

Limp Gawd
I am a PHP developer who primarily works with Zend Framework with mySQL, I don't have much experience with building scaling applications. This seems to be in increasing demand from my reoccurring clients now due to their higher profile clients and essentially higher traffic websites...

So far have two projects under my belt which were built to run on AWS with RDS, ElastiCache, Multiple EC2 instances and a load balancer and these have all run perfectly since day 1. Code was fairly optimized for this with all assets being stored in S3 with the EC2 instances having non persistent storage. Full opcode caching, minimising disk reads, using Nginx, PHP-FPM for the web server and caching DB queries where ever possible.

What I am trying to achieve here is the best practices when building scalable apps, which I think I am already on the right path to. As well as being able to test them fully before handing them over to the sys admin.

What I would like to be able to do is benchmark these apps in my VMWare lab, by this I mean setting up a load balancer, multiple web servers, multiple DB servers. Then have multiple VMs which simulate load on the app.
Maybe with the load generating VMs running selenium test cases I use
Is there any software out there designed to do such a thing?
How can I easily spin up additional web instances within my lab?
Something with graphs always wins me over lol

My lab consists of (or will by the end of the week...) so have a fair few resources to work with

Code:
NAS 
 - 8x 3TB in RAID6 (2 of)
 - 8x 1TB in RAID10
 - 10GbE

ESXi 1
 - Xeon E3 1245
 - 32GB RAM
 - 10GbE

ESXi 2
 - AMD FX8150
 - 32GB RAM
 - 10GbE

ESXi 3
 - Xeon E3 1245
 - 16GB RAM
 - 1GbE

ESXi 4
 - C2D E6750
 - 8GB RAM
 - 1GbE

Some software which I have found on my own, but all would need bringing together
Vargrant - http://www.vagrantup.com/
Chef - http://www.opscode.com/chef/
Fake S3 - https://github.com/jubos/fake-s3