SBS 2003 Server Maintenance

Aoreugif

n00b
I'm new to the IT field and I'm in charge of taking care of a Microsoft SBS 2003 w/ about 45-50 workstations on it. I know about the basics Defrag Drives,Patches & Updates,Disk cleanup, is there anything else I could do to ensure a sooth running server?
Is there a master check list of maintenance to do Daily,Weekly and Quarterly on servers or do you just pick this stuff up as you go?
Thanks for your input :D

Depends on the server, the load on it, quality of the hardware, what other software you're running on it.

I have some SBS setups that have a lot of clients, and they run a LOT from the server, so it has heavy loads...and a few I have scheduled to reboot every Sunday early in the morning to keep it running smoothly.

Other clients with smaller networks and less of a load of SBS, like..only DC/infrastructure and e-mail..light file sharing, those things can run for months on end rock steady.

If you have services exposed like RWW, etc...you'll want to maintain your Microsoft Updates to keep the server better protected.

Obviously check your backup, the integrated SBS backup shows right up in the Server Managers monitoring section..where you can always check on the health of the server..eyeball a nice well layed out dashboard of the server right there.

Check servers hardware once in a while, like any other server..see if some hard drives are ready to jump off the cliff.

Occasionally make sure BIOS and drivers of the server are updated. Use caution about updating NIC drives remotely.

Check antivirus of course.