SAS?

Discussion in 'Virtualized Computing' started by Forealz, Apr 7, 2012.

  1. Forealz

    Forealz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    253
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    I'm looking to make a little VMware testing station and was looking at hard drives. Because it's just a test machine, I'm not really looking into RAID. I should pretty much just get a SAS drive right? At some point I might transfer an image off it, and I shouldn't run into any problems dropping it on a RAID machine right?

    Looking at newegg, SAS 6gb/s seems to be the right choice, right?
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2012
  2. 4saken

    4saken [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,690
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    just use SATA if its a test machine. You dont really need SAS unless you are dropping cash on a server.

    honestly tho, need more info.
     
  3. extide

    extide 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Yeah why do you think you need sas?
     
  4. ND40oz

    ND40oz [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,694
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    I'd go with a single SSD over SAS for testing, IOPS are what you're looking for.
     
  5. Forealz

    Forealz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    253
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    I was looking into my options. I'd like to have one handy so if I take over administration for a small business server I can use it as a temporary virtual server for them while I either virtualize their server or make them a new vm. So, a small office might run off it for a short period of time, but really only if I run into issues virtualizing their server.