1. Hello Guest! We are currently using temporary server hardware. Search and email notification is disabled and some embedded images may not appear.

SAS?

Discussion in 'Virtualized Computing' started by Forealz, Apr 7, 2012.

  1. Forealz

    Forealz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    253
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    I'm looking to make a little VMware testing station and was looking at hard drives. Because it's just a test machine, I'm not really looking into RAID. I should pretty much just get a SAS drive right? At some point I might transfer an image off it, and I shouldn't run into any problems dropping it on a RAID machine right?

    Looking at newegg, SAS 6gb/s seems to be the right choice, right?
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2012
  2. 4saken

    4saken [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,727
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    just use SATA if its a test machine. You dont really need SAS unless you are dropping cash on a server.

    honestly tho, need more info.
     
  3. extide

    extide 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,155
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Yeah why do you think you need sas?
     
  4. ND40oz

    ND40oz [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,717
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    I'd go with a single SSD over SAS for testing, IOPS are what you're looking for.
     
  5. Forealz

    Forealz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    253
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    I was looking into my options. I'd like to have one handy so if I take over administration for a small business server I can use it as a temporary virtual server for them while I either virtualize their server or make them a new vm. So, a small office might run off it for a short period of time, but really only if I run into issues virtualizing their server.