SanDisk Extreme PRO 480GB SSD $143.71 AR

Ive been running a sandisk extreme 240 for the past 3 years 24/7 and still going strong.

$143.71 after rebate. No thanks. Not even lukewarm. You have to jump through extra hoops to get that discount.

500GB Samsung 850 Evo's are going for $154.99 right now without rebates. You get 20 more Gigabytes of space for almost the same price.

Samsung Evo @Amazon $154.99/500GB= $0.31. 31 cents per gigabyte.
Sandisk Extreme Pro @Adorama $143.71/480GB= $0.30. 30 cents per gigabyte.

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate, HardForum may earn from qualifying purchases.
I've never owned a single PC component for 10 years. I'd personally take a cheaper drive. Good price currently for this drive though.

The extreme pro has a 10 year warranty.

Doesn't make much difference at this price point and capacity. They won't have any stock of these to replace them with in 10 years, and the replacement will be their cheapest and slowest product at that time which will still be better because the tech will have advanced so far. I'd rather keep upgrading.

If this were an Enterprise class drive and costing over 2 grand then a 10 year warranty would start to make sense. Drop the warranty to 5 years and drop the price by yet another $10 to $20 (without rebate) and these drives start to be competitive.

Now those 960GB Extreme II's for $100 less than 1TB 850 Evos a while back was a helluva deal.

-edit- I see these are Extreme Pros, not Extreme II's. That makes the deal a little more palatable, but I would still avoid it since it requires a rebate.

$143.71 after rebate. No thanks. Not even lukewarm. You have to jump through extra hoops to get that discount.

500GB Samsung 850 Evo's are going for $154.99 right now without rebates. You get 20 more Gigabytes of space for almost the same price.

I thought I made it pretty clear it was AR? Figured it compares to the samsung pro more than the evo given the similar warranty.