Samsung 840 Pro - New build issues

mhenley

[H]ard|Gawd
This is my first time using SSDs, so I will start by admitting that I don't know everything, and I'm not sure where to go from here. I just built a new gaming rig, and after dialing in my OC I decided to test other components. This is where things started to go wrong.

MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Intel 4770k @ 4.5GHz
2x8GB Crucial Ballistix Elite
2x Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
2x Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001
2x Seagate 1TB ST1000DM003
Corsair RM850 PSU
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Sony Optiarc DVD writer
WD Green 2TB (temporary)

Optical drive and WD are on the ASMedia ports, all others are on Intel ports. SSDs are on 1 and 2. After installing the OS and all proprietary software (MSI Live Update, Samsung Magician, etc...) I did the necessary tweaks to the OS in Samsung Magician, and tried to run a performance benchmark. It stuck at 7% but did show ~80MB/s seq. write. CrystalDiskMark confirmed that write number, but showed a nice ~530MB/s seq. read.

Updated to latest Intel RST drivers, Samsung Magician claims it cannot communicate with one of my SSDs on boot, software shows both are present but lists one of the serial numbers twice with no communication. 1TB drives no longer present. Uninstalling RST reverts back to original.

Changed to the Microsoft AHCI driver knowing that it is not known for performance, SSDs now bench at 280/250 through Samsung Magician, numbers confirmed in CrystalDiskMark. Magician also says that SATA3 is available, but not connected, which explains the numbers I would expect from a SATA2 connection.

Rather than installing the full RST package, I downloaded just the driver, same issues (all of them) as when I installed the full package.

BIOS recognized everything perfect, and controller is set for AHCI.

I've never seen anything like this before. Thoughts?

You didn't mention how you were using the SSD's, RAID or JBOD (in AHCI)?