RX 480 won't boot!

Ocellaris

Ginger @le, an alcoholic's best friend.
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
18,863
It gets better..... I flashed the motherboard to the very latest version, 4.3 (I thought 1.19 was the latest according to MSI's updater). This BIOS is needed to run newer GPU's (so it's not PCIe power afterall). But it turns out that this version kills motherboards (non B3 that weren't returned in the recall), there was no mention on the BIOS updates page. MSI's lack of warning (their only real documentation is buried in their forum) has reduced the motherboard to an endless boot-loop, with no easy fix. Plus their Dual BIOS and M-Flash features are literally useless on this board - further MSI cockups! :(

I will be contacting MSI, their errors have turned the old (but still decent) hardware into a paperweight. Isn't there a MSI rep around here?


All the time wasted. This has to be my worst worst enthusiast experience in 20 years. I thought a GPU would be a streightforward upgrade, wow!
First up if you go looking for problems with anything you will find them. MSI and other companies don't give a shit about people who bought boards before the B3 recall and then never had the boards fixed. The B3 recall was huge and information was all over the place. Using an unfixed boards is user error and no mainboard company should be on the hook for supporting neglected unfixed boards for 6 years.

The MSI tools for flashing boards usually work fine. Those MSI forum people have their head way up their ass complaining about the tools not working and acting like it's going to 100% nuke your board if you use an MSI tool.
 
Last edited:

Wiseguy2001

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 28, 2001
Messages
3,466
The issue I have is that this isn't user error.

When Intel announced the recall, I made a conscious decision to write off a couple of sata3 ports (and some possible resale value) over the hassle of RMAing the motherboard.

I've flashed over a dozen motherboards, and I'm careful. Despite taking a backup of the current BIOS and flashing it within the BIOS, it's f**ked. Because:-
The Dual Bios is useless.
The Restore is flawed.
It's known that this update causes permanent damage, but there's no disclaimer on the download page.​

This isn't some newb who tried to flash it in windows with AV enabled. This could have easily been prevented by having a physical BIOS switch or just a warning on the download page.
 

trandoanhung1991

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 26, 2011
Messages
1,106
The issue I have is that this isn't user error.

When Intel announced the recall, I made a conscious decision to write off a couple of sata3 ports (and some possible resale value) over the hassle of RMAing the motherboard.

I've flashed over a dozen motherboards, and I'm careful. Despite taking a backup of the current BIOS and flashing it within the BIOS, it's f**ked. Because:-
The Dual Bios is useless.
The Restore is flawed.
It's known that this update causes permanent damage, but there's no disclaimer on the download page.​

This isn't some newb who tried to flash it in windows with AV enabled. This could have easily been prevented by having a physical BIOS switch or just a warning on the download page.
If it's known, why didn't you do research before flashing BIOS? Isn't that user error?

It's also user error since you refused to RMA a malfunctioning part. It's not the company's fault that you're using something they're not supporting.
 

xorbe

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
6,026
Some 960 buyers also found that their older motherboards simply wouldn't boot newer cards. My old system lucked out I guess. Though I had a Dell that wouldn't boot my 7900GS, total bummer.
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
6,356
Motherboard recalls i imagine are pretty fucked up......If mine was currently working, and i had no backup, it be tough to go without for weeks. I cant really fault op for that one lol....And who the hell remembers a recall from several years ago? lol..I would just pick up a cheap rom off ebay
 

Wiseguy2001

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 28, 2001
Messages
3,466
Thanks, since it would cost ~£100 to get a new mobo (amazed at the valuations for 5 year old gear), so I decided to get replace it all in the end.

Just the CPU/ mobo & memory (6700k, Asus Z170-a, 2x16GB 2400,mhz) has changed, yet the startup time for some software I've been working on (very memory intensive), has gone from 1,600ms+ to ~1040ms - Quite a bit more than I was anticipating..

My 6700k came yesterday, had it at 4.6ghz in minutes and 4.7 a little later (had it pass a 12 hour stress, 4.8 seems fairly far off though), Plus Doom was thrown in! (y)

The GPU isn't that bad either, whack up the in game settings and play. 1200p is really smooth!


I probably will selvage the old parts for a project or person.
 
Top