Running a Server

ademster

Gawd
Hello all,

I am new to this, but I would like to know what I need to run a server from my house...

I need to have DDNS capabilities, fr a Live internet Cam.

Please let me know what I need to do..
I have a coputer that I want to convert to a Server..

Thanks

Adam

The question is: what kind of server do you want to run? Web? Mail? DNS? If this is just a webcam thing, don't you just run that program and just let it run 24/7?

And if you need ddns, just get service from dyndns, no-ip...

ademster said:
Hello all,

I am new to this, but I would like to know what I need to run a server from my house...

I need to have DDNS capabilities, fr a Live internet Cam.

Please let me know what I need to do..
I have a coputer that I want to convert to a Server..

Thanks

Adam

If you just need DDNS services then most routers have that built in, like most linksys, belkin, d-link etc... if you can't do that then I recommend a program called direct update that will do DDNS for you automatically. Or, there are tons of linux distro's out there, i recommend one called www.clarkconnect.com for most noobs since its the most power in the simplest to use package. It includes a DDNS feature also...

If you are looking for something else, you'll have to tell us what you want the server to do before we can help.

basically I need it to be able to host the live camera... and also use it to share files.... but thats it... I have a old computer that I ould like to use..

thanks all...

I already had done the no-ip thing... but its for somereason unstable... and also I am using a linksys router with the linksys internet cam.....

help on that would be great....

this camera

and this router

ademster said:
basically I need it to be able to host the live camera... and also use it to share files.... but thats it... I have a old computer that I ould like to use..

thanks all...