Run 64-Bit Windows With Conroe?

laxmiddi44

Gawd
I'm wondering if i should buy windows 64-bit edition for my conroe build.

Are their any disadvantages to running a 64-bit operating system?

eh, I doubt the performance increase would justify spending the cash on a 64 bit license. I'd wait for Vista.

Lich said:
eh, I doubt the performance increase would justify spending the cash on a 64 bit license. I'd wait for Vista.

does it affect any apps that aren't 64-bit in a negative way?

or how does that work?

32-bit apps are generally at plus or minus a few percent (like +/- 3%). But if you don't have any specific app of yours that benefits from 64-bit, and already have a copy of 32-bit XP, it's probably just a good idea to wait for Vista like Lich said.

Having said that, I've been running 64-bit XP for quite some time and love it :) I even have it running on this X6800.

I've been running XP 64 bit for 9 months with my opty 170. Runs great with the exception of Flash and active X not working in IE (I dual boot to XP Pro when I need that). Otherwise a fine OS, but if you require 100% compatability you really have little to gain from it...

Dennis, XP x64 also comes with a 32-bit version of IE for stuff like that.

rolo said:
Dennis, XP x64 also comes with a 32-bit version of IE for stuff like that.
Of course... I wasn't thinking. it could be that ever since I installed the IE7 beta 3 the 32 bit browser only appears when using Windows update, even though I only installed the 64 bit version. Both IE icons show as IE7. But the 32 bit browser does show up when using Windows Update. I have to figure out where it's hiding...;-)