request from the hive: automated system recovery

iroc409

[H]ard|Gawd
i have a request from everyone; like open source, a thousand heads are better than one.

i work in a lab with about 450-ish machines (down from about 600 a couple months ago). these systems are sent out on a loan basis for companies, events, etc. they are sent out for less than (typically) 30 days at a time. generally, when they come back i reimage them and make them all clean and happy for the next go.

we use corporate norton ghost 8.3 to handle all of our imaging (and ghostcast) currently. there are some investigating an alternative software, but that's what we have for now.

what i have embarked upon, and would like some ideas for, is building an automated recovery system for when these boxen are in the field. i have had some success, and have a working prototype. unfortunately, it's not quite what i'd like.

here's how it works now:

the system has 2 partitions on the drive. one is a fat32 partition running a minimal windows98-based DOS, ghost, and contains the image files. windows xp is installed on the second partition. i have set up windows' boot manager to handle the booting operations. right now it's set at a 3 second timeout to default to windows.

if a user/operator/whoever likes, they can boot into the automated recovery system. this is done from the boot manager, which boots into the minimal DOS install. then via the autoexec.bat, it directly loads ghost via command line, and immediately sets forth the reimage. once you select to boot into recovery mode, the only thing stopping the system from reimage is a single keystroke (pause in autoexec).

this works well, for the prototype. in under 5 minutes, the user has a completely fresh "factory" install.