Replacing a failing Z170 and 6700K build

EricUrS4

n00b
I've got what I suspect to be a failing MSI Z170 motherboard, the build is as follows,

Intel 6700K
Corsair H100i GTX
MSI Z170 SLI Plus
G.Skill 2x16gb
2x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Samsung 950 Pro 256GB
EVGA 1050W PSU
Cooler Master MasterCase Pro 5

I've been looking at two options,

Intel 7900X
ASUS TUF X299 MARK 2
Corsair 4x8GB

Or

Intel 8700K
ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero

The idea would be to reuse as much as I could from the previous build, but with the idea of moving up in performance. I was able to get the pair of 1080Ti's for $750 each before Christmas with the idea of having a better chance at 3x4K as I have 3x 43" Vizio 4K 60Hz TV's as monitors on my desk currently. I'm a sysadmin so the usable area to work especially on patch nights is very helpful also.

I understand the bottleneck of anything on the Z platform having only 16 PCIE lanes with running an SLI setup, but my questions are more of the idea that I play AAA games, edit photos, and general use. Is the investment in the 7900X worth it as far as gaming performance goes? I know it unlocks the full potential of the SLI setup, but is it going to be THAT noticeable of a difference over my current setup when it was at its prime? Or is it a safer bet knowing what I'm doing, to save the money and stick with a Z370 combo?

Any assistance is appreciated, thanks in advance.

The 8700k setup for sure - even with dual 1080 Tis the 7900X is not going to give you hugely better gaming performance. 1080 Tis running at PCIe 3.0 x8 speeds will still get the full performance - they are not bandwidth limited by the PCIE slot at all unless you drop down to x2-x4 speed.

You could get an 8700k, delid it (use Silicon Lottery if you want), overclock to 4.9-5.2GHz and have a kick ass experience for hundreds less than the 7900X setup.