Removing unused leads from PCB

Melvang

n00b
Joined
Jan 9, 2021
Messages
15
Putting some serious thought into opening up my PSU and removing unwanted/unused leads. I have more unused leaded than used right now.

Anyone done this?

Before the safety police start commenting, I am well aware of the dangers of working around capacitors, and an aware of safe discharge procedures.
 

Melvang

n00b
Joined
Jan 9, 2021
Messages
15
This is why people buy modular power supplies. Go for it :)
Don't have the disposable cash for one right now. The PSU is an older PC Power & Cooling 950 Silencer. Bought when modular first started gaining popularity but most were still using proprietary plugs at the PSU. But a bit of screwdriver action and solder work will be essentially free.
 

cdabc123

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
2,876
Go for it. I would even consider just cutting the unused wires short in the psu if the soldering job looks like a pain. If the soldering job looks easy go at it and your good.
 

Melvang

n00b
Joined
Jan 9, 2021
Messages
15
Go for it. I would even consider just cutting the unused wires short in the psu if the soldering job looks like a pain. If the soldering job looks easy go at it and your good.
Not planning on just cutting. Paranoid about wires touching and I hate dealing with tape residue. I am fairly decent with an iron. I have desoldered switches from a couple cheap alps keyboards without lifting any pads, replaced switches on a plate mount Roswill, and my Das Keybaords.
 

cdabc123

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
2,876
Not planning on just cutting. Paranoid about wires touching and I hate dealing with tape residue. I am fairly decent with an iron. I have desoldered switches from a couple cheap alps keyboards without lifting any pads, replaced switches on a plate mount Roswill, and my Das Keybaords.

Not to discourage you from soldering as thats the best way to do it but you wouldnt have too worry about wires touching. If you cut them around the same length and cut cleanly the installation is enough to prevent it. I do it frequently for psus I'm using for other projects.
 

Melvang

n00b
Joined
Jan 9, 2021
Messages
15
Not to discourage you from soldering as thats the best way to do it but you wouldnt have too worry about wires touching. If you cut them around the same length and cut cleanly the installation is enough to prevent it. I do it frequently for psus I'm using for other projects.
I realize it is probably an unnecessary paranoia, but desoldering also leaves easier installation of leads down to road in needed. Plus cleaner work.
 

Melvang

n00b
Joined
Jan 9, 2021
Messages
15
Well, no desoldering tonight. Turns out, my tip doesn't have enough thermal capacity to melt the solder.
 
Last edited:

jmilcher

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
4,792
Well, no desoldering tonight. Turns out, my tip doesn't have enough thermal capacity to melt the solder.
I was going to chime in and mention, the solder they use for these commercially produced psu’s will require a heck of a hefty iron or a really hot air gun. It’s not your average temp stuff.
 

Melvang

n00b
Joined
Jan 9, 2021
Messages
15
I was going to chime in and mention, the solder they use for these commercially produced psu’s will require a heck of a hefty iron or a really hot air gun. It’s not your average temp stuff.
Yeah, I have done lead free stuff in keyboards, just not connections with this much mass.
 

Melvang

n00b
Joined
Jan 9, 2021
Messages
15
Use a large tip, and lots of flux
We have one electronics store in the area, going to call them tomorrow and see if they carry any larger tips for my iron. If not, I am going to call Edsyn tomorrow. I am looking at the LT341BC with proper retainer, and the LT399LF. Both of these are 0.16" wide. My current tip is only .06".
 

Format _C:

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
3,310
You could convert it into modular. the easier way would be cutting the cables and attaching them to connectors that can be used later. Or you can mod the whole case https://bit-tech.net/guides/modding/building_a_modular_psu/4/

PSU remains usable if more is needed from it.

I did this quite awhile back I remember my radio buddy said to use "Aviation" connectors that are availble in up to I don't know but the max I have seen it 14 pins they are round and have a screw lock so they make a good solid connection as they are screwd tight and friction lock with the pin to hole connection also.
 

Melvang

n00b
Joined
Jan 9, 2021
Messages
15
I did this quite awhile back I remember my radio buddy said to use "Aviation" connectors that are availble in up to I don't know but the max I have seen it 14 pins they are round and have a screw lock so they make a good solid connection as they are screwd tight and friction lock with the pin to hole connection also.
Cannon plug is the term you are looking for.
 

travm

Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
769
+1 for cut.
Cut, fold back on wire, tape. All the outputs from your psu are low voltage, so as long as you don't short anything to the case and secure them its all good. You might be able to stuff them back into the housing, or cut them off from inside the housing. I wouldn't mess around with soldering, not worth the effort, and you're far more likely to accidentally melt/burn something important.
 

Format _C:

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
3,310
Cannon plug is the term you are looking for.
OK Thanks I think the ones I used were made by Ampehonal (AMP or who ever owns them today the tech industey has only a few "actual" companies left with many subdivisions of the same parent company electical wiring devices are the worst ones saying a person who almost became and electician but setled for IT)
+1 for cut.
Cut, fold back on wire, tape. All the outputs from your psu are low voltage, so as long as you don't short anything to the case and secure them its all good. You might be able to stuff them back into the housing, or cut them off from inside the housing. I wouldn't mess around with soldering, not worth the effort, and you're far more likely to accidentally melt/burn something important.

Well if you go this route just make sure any voltage wires do not touch a ground wire or the metal chassis (also DC as well as AC ground/Earth)
 

Ready4Dis

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
2,458
Putting some serious thought into opening up my PSU and removing unwanted/unused leads. I have more unused leaded than used right now.

Anyone done this?

Before the safety police start commenting, I am well aware of the dangers of working around capacitors, and an aware of safe discharge procedures.
I've done this before, I just unsolder the wires and solder back in only the ones I need... if you're really bored you can even shorten them up if they are to long. I've even changed out connectors when I didn't have enough of the right kind, just keep in mind the maximum power of your PSU before adding a ton of high power connectors :p. I'm pretty handy with a soldering iron though, so ymmv. This is how I did it before modular PSU's became a thing. They've always been modular, just not as simple as plugging in a connector ;).
 
  • Like
Reactions: AXm77
like this
Top