Remote desktop from one Linux box to another ?

Deadjasper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
1,911
OK, it's easy enough to remote into a windows from Linux Mint using Remmina but remoting into another Linux Mint box is what I'm trying to figure out. Is it even possible?

TIA
 

IdiotInCharge

NVIDIA SHILL
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
14,710
Using xrdp and Remmina here, Fedora to CentoOS 7. Works well, though I generally use the terminal for everything.

Main use was configuring files with Nano using Powershell SSH, which didn't work to well, so I RDP'd in to use a native terminal :D
 

Deadjasper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
1,911
VNC is likely the answer.

Yep I stumbled upon this and was able to connect once. When I switched to full screen it popped over to my second monitor and my taskbar disappeared on the first. Only was I could recover from this was to rebote the remote box. I haven't been able to reconnect since. :(
 

Deadjasper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
1,911
Using xrdp and Remmina here, Fedora to CentoOS 7. Works well, though I generally use the terminal for everything.

Main use was configuring files with Nano using Powershell SSH, which didn't work to well, so I RDP'd in to use a native terminal :D

Do you install xrdp on both boxes ?
 

IdiotInCharge

NVIDIA SHILL
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
14,710
You'll need to, then use RDP for remoting.

[I assume that there are many ways to do this, but using RDP seems the most consistent when in a mixed environment]
 

ThatITGuy

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 5, 2017
Messages
435
Technically it (RDP) is a Microsoft developed proprietary protocol, but you are correct that RDP in Linux works just fine. I think since it is Microsoft protocol, people just assume Windows only.

OK, it's easy enough to remote into a windows from Linux Mint using Remmina but remoting into another Linux Mint box is what I'm trying to figure out. Is it even possible?

TIA

I personally use SSH with an X server, but I am on Ubuntu with an XFCE DE. There are a few different tools and methods you can use, depending on your needs. Nomachine is supposed to be good, as well as Teamviewer. Curious why Remmina didn't work, but my understanding is it should be able to connect to the remote linux client just fine. More than likely there is something with the machine you are trying to connect to that is set up in such a way as to conflict with your connection/the settings on the client. The different clients (Remmina, VNC) are just using whatever protocol you have set up on that remote machine, in order to connect to it.
 

Deadjasper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
1,911
RDP works fine going from Linux to Windows but not from Linux to Linux. Any info on how to get it to work would be mucho appreciated. :)
 

AltTabbins

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 29, 2005
Messages
20,221
do you really need a persistent desktop? ssh can tunnel X

This is the big compelling reason to keep X too.
Teamviewer works pretty well too. I use it for cross platform. Some people dont like it due to security issues and it not being open source. I just keep it locked down with a white list and 2fa.
 

IdiotInCharge

NVIDIA SHILL
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
14,710
RDP works fine going from Linux to Windows but not from Linux to Linux. Any info on how to get it to work would be mucho appreciated. :)

Install xrdp --> make sure ports are open --> profit?

As I said above, RDP from Fedora to CentOS works.
 

Deadjasper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
1,911
Install xrdp --> make sure ports are open --> profit?

As I said above, RDP from Fedora to CentOS works.

Thanks. I'm waiting on memory and an SSD to finalize the box. I'll give this a whirl when they arrive. I'm wanting desperately to get completely away from MS and mastering this would be a major milestone.
 

IdiotInCharge

NVIDIA SHILL
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
14,710
Thanks. I'm waiting on memory and an SSD to finalize the box. I'll give this a whirl when they arrive. I'm wanting desperately to get completely away from MS and mastering this would be a major milestone.

Try setting up two VMs, making sure that they can ping each other, and then setting up xrdp? I know I've had this working too, including RDPing into Linux VM instances from other machines.

[also, I don't see a reason to move away from RDP just yet, at least for local remote desktop usage- you may be desperate to get away from MS, but you may not succeed, and thus keeping RDP available locally would be useful]
 

Deadjasper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
1,911
Good idea, I'll give it a shot tomorrow.

One thing I've noticed is that Windows RDC takes it's sweet time making the connection whereas Remmina connects instantly. Makes me wonder what RDC does besides connecting to the remote. Like maybe connecting to MS servers for who knows what reason.
 

B00nie

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
8,983
I use a headless install with a xserver-xorg-video-dummy and vnc with localhost only. Then tunnel port 5901 from vnc through SSH and you're golden. Some vnc clients support tunneling in GUI so you don't even need to manage the tunnels yourself.

I wouldn't touch RDP with a long stick personally.
 

AltTabbins

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 29, 2005
Messages
20,221
I have a headless Raspberry Pi that I have for PiHole. It was easy to get Teamviewer running for it and I also enabled SSH since I can control pretty much everything from raspi-config in terminal.
 
Top