Really weird folder issue in XP

IcarusSC

Gawd
I live in China and work in a school that has essentially no network administrator and no network security policy. As you can imagine, we get a lot of viruses. I'm basically a clueless self-taught noob myself, but I do what I can to make sure that my personal computer remains clean as a whistle. And I'm generally successful.

A friend of mine here had her flash drive eaten by a nasty ol' virus and brought it to me to see if I could do anything with it. I cleaned the virii off of it, but was unable to recover her data. Then I realized (long story) that her data was actually still there. I just couldn't see the folder it was in.

Here's the deal -- if I look at the flash drive in an Explorer window, there's apparently no folder there. If I type the address of the folder into the address bar directly (eg F:\Nursing\) it pops right up, no problem. If I view the drive in WinRAR, I can see the folder. If I view the drive in an internet browser, I can see the folder.

I have "Show Hidden Files and Folders" turned on ... I've run the virus scan multiple times, and it's clean ... so what the heck is making that folder invisible?!

If this is the wrong place for this, forgive me / move me / ban me. I've Googled this problem twelve ways to Sunday and come up with nothing, maybe because this is a Chinese virus or maybe because I'm too clueless. But I've been reading the [H] for years and years and am a proud folder on Team 33, so I feel comfortable here ... even if I've never posted before.:D

Thanks!

can you run a chkdsk on the flash drive?
maybe something borked up the file table

Sorry, I should have mentioned -- I already did. Chkdsk came back clean, but the problem still exists.

yes this is the wrong place for it :D

Are you sure that all the virus are already gone? what did you use to clean that usb drive?

well you can try checking this thread for more info
http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1426658