RAT 7 MMO MOD

Tweakzz

n00b
Yip - modding fever run amok!

No - actually i was very disappointed in these mice.
And that was after thinking they would be far better than my disastrous Corsair M90's.

Some history for those interested - else skip to the pics please.....

The Corsair Mice:
Buttons too far apart and the "overlapping" or 'layout' just did just not work for me.
But it was the pathetic software that killed it for me. Firmbooting it ever so often to try program the darn things.....:mad:

......and then the MMO 7 came on the scene....:cool:

The RAT 7 MMO:
It has integrated an idea i've been musing about for at least 6 months - a HAT.
So when a friend and myself saw these we just knew we were buying them.

Initially the mouse felt like my other RATs(7's & 9's).....which is pretty good [with pinkie rest]
However - although the HAT button has lots of potential, it was just too darn hard to use all in 4 directions.
And when one did manage to use them the mouse occ. tilted backwards and/or required a complete repositioning of the hand.
A big NO NO in FPS games.

The only other gripe was really with the most idiotic things i have ever seen - lock buttons on the L + R buttons.
And NOT able to disable those locks, NOR being able to alter or remap them either is insult after injury.
It must be a tiny fraction of people who even use those locks - i've Google'd and searched for reviews and reasons and none have come up.

The MOD
So in this MOD we decided to fix the faults we could - or at least improve upon the standard model. And first was the HAT.
Simply gluing a small rubber nubbin onto it was an amazing improvement.
In the first pic you can see the rubber tip on the hat button. [ignore the tiny nipple on the end - that got sanded off] ;)

7392189930_0b635bd42f.jpg

The rubber was the tip cut off from an automotive grommet which had a 'stalk' sticking out the one side with this rounded tip at the end.