Rampage IV Multiple Issues

roadczar

Limp Gawd
What had started as a cool build is slowly turning into the most problematic build ever. I’ve been doing this for many years and don’t remember a mother board this troublesome.
I’m on my second board now and the second has more issues than the first.

List of issues:
Cold boot code 00 bug (same as the previous board)
http://roadczar.com/th10/?p=271

One of USB 3.0 controllers is not working (same as the previous board)
http://roadczar.com/th10/?p=297

Second BIOS will not boot. Also cannot switch to the second BIOS using the BIOS button on the motherboard. This is a new bug that was not found on the first board.

Trying to decide what to do next, another RMA or try for a refund?

Leaning toward a refund and getting ASRock X79 Extreme9 instead. :confused:

Edit: 1/28/2012

Root cause found, but not solution
I have two crossfired HD 6990s video cards and with three ASUS VE278Q monitors setup in Eyefinity configuration. The monitors are connected to video cards using three display port cables.

The monitors, video cards, and cable are all proven items from my prior build.

I have three following issues:
1. I cannot switch to the second BIOS via the BIOS button - this happens even on default BIOS settings.
2. Randomly disappearing USB 3.0 controllers – this happens even on default BIOS settings.
3. Code 00 cold boot problem if any CPU related performance options (clock, blck, etc) are set to any values other than defaults. As I had stated previously anything besides turbo=auto does not work regardless of memory settings or turbo ratio settings.

Root cause:
Disconnecting two of three display port cables resolves all three problems.
It does not matter which of the two cables I disconnect or which of the two video cards I use. I have tried every permutation of video cards, crossfire settings, cables, and monitors with exact same results.