RAID Status Rebuild, what does this mean?

Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
704
I googled this but I haven't been able to find out what exactly this means. Does this mean one drive is bad or going bad?



I ran a check with data lifeguard and no errors were found.
 

mwroobel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
5,008
It means that the mirror (for whatever reason) is inconsistent. It is now rebuilding so they are both identical. With intel fakeraid sometimes even an abnormal shutdown can trigger a rebuild. Once it is complete, check SMART on both drives and see if there are any uncorrectable errors or media errors. If all looks clear, wait and see if it happens again. As always, the obligatory RAID is not a backup statement and make sure you have current, tested backups of everything that is important.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
704
When will it rebuild I have left my machine on for 24 hours hoping that it would do whatever it needed to do? I should download Passmark disk checkup?
 

Brian_B

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
3,356
If it were RAID 5 or 6 I'd say keep waiting, those things can take forever to rebuild.

RAID1 though - a few hours sure, maybe, but 24 hours for 2T... starts to sound iffy. I'd start looking at disk health.
 

mwroobel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
5,008
If you are running Windows, you can install the intel RST software which will tell you what percentage the rebuild is currently at.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
704
Ok I installed RST and this is what it is showing. I assume this means one of the drives has failed? How do you go about seeing which one it is, just unplug the sata cable?

 

Shockey

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 24, 2008
Messages
2,054
Serial number shows on the screen for the disk that appears to be problem.

Check this against the serial on the drive label to identify. Obviously power the system off when checking physically.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
704
Serial number shows on the screen for the disk that appears to be problem.

Check this against the serial on the drive label to identify. Obviously power the system off when checking physically.

That makes sense thanks. So this means one drive has failed?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
704
Most likely. You can see if windows device manager sees it.

My rule of thumb is if the drive is missing/offline , just replace it and don't chance loosing all the data.

If I replace it with the same brand and size drive do i rebuild it using RST?
 

mwroobel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
5,008
If I replace it with the same brand and size drive do i rebuild it using RST?

Yes. here are the steps. As always, before you make any significant changes to your array(s), make sure you have a complete and current backup of your data. Things can and do go wrong so a backup is always a good thing to have (especially since you now only have a single copy instead of a mirrored copy.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
704
So I started my PC this morning and was about to order a new drive when I got a notification from RST and now it shows this.



Now it is at 3% so it seems to be progressing.
 

Master_shake_

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
14,507
if that disk has bad info the first disk may get corrupted since there is no parity to compare to.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
704
After looking in to it some more I canceled my drive order, apparently it was a "Fulfilled by Amazon" unit and has no real warranty. That got me looking into various other drives and it seems like most reviews are filled with great experiences and units dying after a month. A 2tb WD black which seems to have the least number of bad reviews is $120. Currently I'm only using about 700gbs and I can probably get rid of some of that anyway. I've just rolled over data from my last 3 machines because I have the space for it anyway

I went with a RAID 1 to alleviate worries of losing data but I wonder if I should just buy another 1TB SSD like a MX500 and call it a day. That would give me 2tb total SSD storage. I can then just back up the important files to my WD Blue like I do now.
 
Top