Raid 5 question

stunning

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
317
Im currently set up in a scsi RAID 5 config. I have 4 73 hard drives which allows me to have roughly 200 GB (-1 hd due to raid 5 configs).

So the question is, can i just add more hard drives to tha disk array and get more space or do i have to redo everything?
 

Lazn_Work

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 30, 2001
Messages
5,618
That depends on your controller and if it supports online expansion.
 

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
19,956
Every disk you can add to the array gives you the full capacity of the disk extra (disks must be the same size as those already used in the array).
Find out the spec of the controller you are using to see how many disks it can support in one array.
 

stunning

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
317
The unit is a Dell Powervault 220S, Ive been reading other forums and they said that 68 pin scsi hard drive are not hot swappable. Maybe I was wrong to say it is hot swappable?
 

Ockie

*** Self Proclaimed Storage King ***
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
17,999
Does the unit use "trays" to mount your hard drives into? If so, it's probably a 80pin SCA tray interface with a 68 pin internal ribbon. If you have trays you most likley have hot swap.


Also, since it's a poweredge, I'm thinking it most likley has a good controller and can support expansion. Open your case and tell us what model the card is.
 

axan

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
1,935
whether or not it's hotswappable has nothing to do with being able to expand the size of the array. Get the brand and model info of the controller find manual and see if it supports online capacity expansion OCE
 
Top