Radeon 7 (Vega 2, 7nm, 16GB) - $699 available Feb 7th with 3 games

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by Digital Viper-X-, Jan 9, 2019.

  1. sabrewolf732

    sabrewolf732 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,749
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    yes, looks far better than one would expect with just a couple hundred mhz increase in core speed. Guess vega 64 was really bandwidth starved.
     
    cybereality and {NG}Fidel like this.
  2. {NG}Fidel

    {NG}Fidel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,669
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    I've never seen 12gb vram use with bfv at 4k on my setup.
     
  3. noko

    noko 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,010
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Ok
     
  4. {NG}Fidel

    {NG}Fidel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,669
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
  5. El Derpo

    El Derpo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    198
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    I haven’t seen any benchmarks go past 7 GB of usage.
     
  6. Gideon

    Gideon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006

    1546856165f4k2bi0vdz_10_1.png
     
    tungt88, euskalzabe, noko and 4 others like this.
  7. El Derpo

    El Derpo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    198
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Wow. That makes the 2080 look pretty silly for that game at 4K. Even the 2080 Ti might struggle. I was looking around at benchmarks, but didn’t think to check [H]. Thanks. Makes AMD’s decision to go with 16 GB look pretty good right now.
     
    tungt88, noko and Gideon like this.
  8. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    7,923
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    It would, if they had DXR ;)
     
  9. Derangel

    Derangel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,380
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    The decision might be good for professional or content creation situations, but it really seems like massive overkill for gaming. 12GB would have made a lot more sense and likely have allowed them to lower the price a little.
     
  10. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    7,923
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    An odd configuration doesn't make much sense at first pass, but really, they could literally leave off a stack of HBM2 without affecting performance. If they could leave off two stacks, they could drop the interposer size and likely significantly reduce their BOM.
     
  11. NKD

    NKD [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,119
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    ? It’s using over 8 gigs of ram in dx12 with no dxr at 4K.
     
    noko and cybereality like this.
  12. Algrim

    Algrim [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,280
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Seems like the Radeon VII and a Zen2-based ThreadRipper would be a very potent content creation/gaming machine. Bonus points for being non-Intel/non-nVidia.
     
  13. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    7,923
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    You wouldn't use DX12 in BF:V unless you're using DXR.
     
    Maddness likes this.
  14. NKD

    NKD [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,119
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    {NG}Fidel likes this.
  15. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    7,923
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Maddness likes this.
  16. Nolan7689

    Nolan7689 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,070
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
  17. sparks

    sparks 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,193
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    raytracing is a joke. so far they got it to work in one game, then gimped it so they had some frame rates.
    OH BOY raytracing....everyone stop shooting and come look at this shadow...aint it purty


    dlss on the other hand helps...can amd do it???
     
    Pieter3dnow likes this.
  18. Digital Viper-X-

    Digital Viper-X- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,450
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    the % are off.... EG, Strange Brigade

    60.9 -> 88.9 is more than 28%
     
  19. cybereality

    cybereality 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,668
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    The 28.47 number is the same for the game right above, probably a copy/paste error.
     
  20. noko

    noko 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,010
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Depends upon your system, my Ryzen 2700 system/Vega FE's is faster in DX 12 than DX 11 in BF5 - plus DX 11 seems to be more erratic in framerates. Nvidia also has better DX 11 support so AMD users need to just test which one works best for them.

    Also different aspects of any game can be different between the two API's, for example low content scenes as in objects, shaders etc. may excel under DX 11 single thread low latency (single thread controlling the draw calls) while DX 12 will excel at highly complexed scenes with tens of thousands of objects with the combined strength of multiple cores at work.
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  21. noko

    noko 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,010
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    That was with current Intel/Nvidia hardware, drivers, OS update - that does not mean other systems with different hardware/configurations will have the same behavior or findings.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2019 at 3:44 AM
    cybereality likes this.
  22. Bawjaws

    Bawjaws Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    275
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    VRAM used and VRAM needed are two different things, of course. Games will cache as much as possible to memory even if that doesn't actually improve real-world performance.
     
    Nightfire, Maddness, Snowdog and 3 others like this.
  23. kasakka

    kasakka Gawd

    Messages:
    966
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Yup, it's the same thing as system RAM where unutilized RAM is useless RAM. So it makes sense to fill it to the brim with cached content for faster access if there is enough content to fill it in the first place. Doesn't mean it is needed.
     
    noko and Bawjaws like this.
  24. {NG}Fidel

    {NG}Fidel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,669
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Agreed.
    My friends low core count system with a 580 prefers dx12. Anyone assuming it's just bad is just being lazy. Patches change things.
     
  25. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    7,923
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    With AMD's poor DX11 support, I can see why DX12 might seem attractive in Frostbyte- but in DX12 it's still slower than Nvidia's DX11 ;)
     
  26. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,172
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    If AMD could cut cost wouldn't they have done that?
    Since when is it in AMD advantage to use high quality components to drive up costs in a market where they have trouble competing at the same level as Nvidia (being outsold all the time).
    Must have been a problem where they could not use it in any other way (guess why Vega originally needed HBM as well).
     
  27. Nolan7689

    Nolan7689 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,070
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    And RE2 (demo) DX11 was far and away better than DX12 for me and at least one other mentioned it in the thread.
     
  28. noko

    noko 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,010
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    lol or Nvidia DX 12 just plain sucks :D. It is what it is. I have two video's processing comparing DX11 and DX12, short and sweet. Will be placed in this thread once done and if ok (should be third video post):

    https://hardforum.com/threads/battlefield-v-ryzen-cpu-and-vega-testing.1975050/

    As for ram usage, in DX 12 I've have not seen anything over 7gb in DX 12, DX 11 it climbs to around 12gb and then stays there, this is at 1440p single player stuff. Once I get to mediocre at multiplayer or good enough to hide and not get killed in 5 secs I may do some more boring videos ;).
     
  29. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    7,923
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Given that it's a game-to-game thing for DX12, not really. But AMD's DX11 (and DX10) drivers have struggled since their inception, of that there is no doubt.
     
    Montu likes this.
  30. noko

    noko 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,010
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    yes and yes but sometimes no - for example FarCry 5 AMD drivers supports very well, works about perfect with CFX too. When AMD puts the effort in they can have some good DX 11 performance or efficiency.
     
  31. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    7,923
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Sometimes they get lucky- I like to think it has to do with less ratfuckery from the devs on particular titles, but who knows.
     
  32. Derangel

    Derangel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,380
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Buildzoid put up a video talking about the card. Pretty good run down of the card and some speculation on why the price is where its at. As usual with Buildzoid he rambles at times, but he still does a good job providing a bit of a different take on the card compared to a lot of the tech press.

     
  33. Snowdog

    Snowdog Pasty Nerd with Poor Cardio

    Messages:
    7,979
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    I think his premise is flawed. He seems under the assumption that AMD has big sales in the data center, and this was just a lark to sell it to consumers.

    I think both of those points are questionable.

    1: I really doubt AMD has big data center sales. NVidia dominates data center even more than it dominates gaming. CUDA dominates scientific computing.
    2: I really doubt AMD ever planned this as a data center only chip. AMD is all about using a chip in as many applications as possible.
     
    IdiotInCharge and Montu like this.
  34. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    7,923
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    It's an advantage and a disadvantage- obviously some like Apple appreciate the multi-use capability, but it does put it them at a basic inefficiency disadvantage that has to be accounted for one way or another in final products.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2019 at 3:20 PM
  35. KazeoHin

    KazeoHin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,663
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    So this is 60 CUs with 16GB, I would love to see a 50 CU/8GB version for $475.
     
    horrorshow likes this.
  36. Auer

    Auer n00bie

    Messages:
    58
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    If the 7 proves itself as a legit 4k gaming choice and also as a decent creative Pro performer the current price seems ok to me.

    A
     
  37. CAD4466HK

    CAD4466HK Gawd

    Messages:
    799
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
  38. NKD

    NKD [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,119
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Why would you want to waste money at that? Just grab a vega 56 or 64 for cheaper lol. Its not just the 16GB of memory, that extra HBM2 stacks are more than doubling the bandwidth which is one of the primary reasons for the performance increase. if 8GB got the same performance amd would have loved to do that. There is a reason it has double the memory bandwidth.
     
    sabrewolf732, Bawjaws and cybereality like this.
  39. El Derpo

    El Derpo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    198
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Brand tattoos are just about the dumbest thing on the planet.
     
    exlink and NKD like this.
  40. NKD

    NKD [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,119
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007

    why do people do this! I know its their body but common! lol. Its like enslaving yourself to a brand.