Radeon 10bit encoding?

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by Archer75, Mar 14, 2019.

  1. Archer75

    Archer75 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,432
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    I'm having a tough time finding the info. Do any Radeon cards have the ability to encode 10bit HEVC? Specifically in handbrake?
     
  2. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,393
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    I do know the hardware supports (both) HEVC and I'm starting to wonder why 10 bit would excluded all of a sudden that is one of the reasons you would use HEVC...
     
  3. Archer75

    Archer75 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,432
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    I know with Nvidia cards 10bit encoding didn’t arrive until their 1000 series cards but B frame support not until their 2000 series.
    I know amd Vega cards don’t do 10bit.

    I can’t find any info if the Radeon VII can do it.

    AMDs FE card might be able to with their pro drivers.
    It’s just so hard to find this info.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2019
  4. reaper12

    reaper12 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,193
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    According to Anandtech there are no new encoding or decoding features added to the Radeon VII. So it can do 10bit decoding but not encoding.

    I think some of the Ryzen APU's do support it.