Questions to help me decide.

micah

Limp Gawd
Hello
The wife and I are talking about switching from film to digital camrea. I have spent hours looking online for a avg of how many pictures they get per MB. The reason I am asking is I am pricing out things and am not sure how big of a memory I want to buy. I want to be able to go on vacation and not have to worry about running out of room and all of that stuff. I know that different settings will change how many pictures they will hold. I want to be able to have so that I can get good looking pitures from them so I would say a high setting will be needed.

The Camrea I am looking at right now has 3.2mp and I understand that with that I could get nice picture to 11x14 in size. So that should be fine for me as a first camrea (in digital that is) Do you all think that a camrea with 3.2 is ok for the type of pictures I will be taking ? I am not a pro and I do not need a top of the line camrea. I am getting a sony as one of my laptops is a sony and has a card reader built into it. That will just make it that much more easyer to deal with them on the road and such.

Also should I maybe buy more than one in case something happens that way I do not lose all of the pictures ?
Can a card site for a while (maybe a few weeks up to a month) without losing the pictures stored on them ?

Well thanks for your time and any replies I get to this.

I know that different settings will change how many pictures they will hold. I want to be able to have so that I can get good looking pitures from them so I would say a high setting will be needed.

Go to dpreview.com or stevesdigicams.com for more detail on file size on different settings on your specific camera.

The Camrea I am looking at right now has 3.2mp and I understand that with that I could get nice picture to 11x14 in size.