Questions for C9 OLED guys

Discussion in 'Displays' started by tigger1612, Sep 29, 2019.

  1. tigger1612

    tigger1612 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Hows the gaming now at 1440p 120hz? Are you scaling the image and if so do you notice a softer image? Getting rid of my PG27UQ and going 55 C9. I know it'll be a regression for a period of time until Gsync compatible firmware and later hdmi 2.1 but certainly gain image quality. I have OLEDs for other rooms as tvs already and am addicted to that contrast.

    Any noticable input delay as it stands today?

    Calibration wise, are people just calibrating the game mode on the tv for accurate color?

    Any pictures anyone has of their setup would be awesome too. Mount recommendations as well.
     
  2. l88bastard

    l88bastard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,620
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Just order the AW55, it comes with a sweet $200 discount if you are a rewards member which makes it so affordable that everybody should buy at least two!

    https://www.dell.com/en-us/member/s...0qf/apd/210-auds/monitors-monitor-accessories

    In all serious, the C9 is excellent and the 1440p 120hz is OK if your sitting about 10 feet away. Its super responsive and motion clarity looks real good, but its going to leave you wanting MOAR resolution, especially if you are coming from a 4k144hz gaming panel.
     
  3. AngryLobster

    AngryLobster Clueless

    Messages:
    169
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    I dunno how you guys can stomach using these 55" 4K displays @ 1440p. It looks utterly disgusting.
     
  4. Enhanced Interrogator

    Enhanced Interrogator Gawd

    Messages:
    919
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Do you own one or are you just speculating?
     
    Armenius and Sancus like this.
  5. StryderxX

    StryderxX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    32" 1440p monitors don't have the best image quality so blowing that up to 55" can't be good unless you sit far enough away.
     
  6. Haemato

    Haemato n00b

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2019
    I'm playing Apex Legends at 1440p@120Hz with a C9 and 2080ti. Looks great to me. I sit about 3.5-4ft back. Looking forward to the LG firmware update that enables VRR. I'll upgrade to a HDMI 2.1 GPU when they come out but for now this is pretty close to the best setup possible imo.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  7. MistaSparkul

    MistaSparkul [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Of course it's going to look terrible but if you sit far enough you won't be able to notice that but still be able to enjoy that OLED eye candy. Heck if you sit far enough even 1080p becomes hard to notice vs 4k and that is what people were doing previously, running their OLEDs at 1080p120Hz.
     
  8. tigger1612

    tigger1612 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Is the input delay non-existant? Some charts I saw show the PG27UQ and the OLED at 120hz pretty much the same. Actually I believe the OLED might even be quicker with its 6.x ms time.
     
  9. AngryLobster

    AngryLobster Clueless

    Messages:
    169
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    I owned a B8. 1440p is absolutely atrocious on a display that size even 6 feet away.

    My Q80R does something in terms of scaling to 1440p that looks much nicer than a comparable OLED but I'd still never use it in a million years.

    I don't get it, buy an OLED for the PQ but use 1440p and destroy that PQ with a soft/aliased blurry mess.
     
    MelonSplitter likes this.
  10. MistaSparkul

    MistaSparkul [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Well if you aren't destroying the picture quality by lower resolution blur then you would be destroying it with 60Hz sample and hold blur so really there's no way to win here.
     
    defaultluser likes this.
  11. DF-1

    DF-1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,578
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    My eyesight isn't very good. I have a 65 B7. 1440/120 was very smooth, but didnt look great.

    I set my res to 4k and if the game allows I render scale it to 80%.
     
  12. tigger1612

    tigger1612 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    I still have an older 65 E6 and back then hooked up my pc to it for 4k/60hz and ran Doom 2016 on it. While obvious input lag sucked, the 4k res even at that size was amazing to me. I remember even putting my face 1ft from it and saying can't see pixels etc. Maybe im just blind but it looked great. Hopefully we get 2.1 soon then the C9 should become the best "monitor" especially considering it was 500 bucks cheaper then my PG27UQ.
     
  13. Stryker7314

    Stryker7314 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    261
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Can the C9 run 1440P natively 1:1 without scaling and black bars around if you send the 1440P signal with a video card?
     
  14. kasakka

    kasakka [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    If you use GPU scaling then it should. It will be a pretty small window though so probably not useful. Try using sharpen filters with full screen scaling instead.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  15. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    19,166
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    No. No LCD or LED panel can do this with non-native resolutions. If you want a full screen image with a less-than native resolution then you're going to have to use scaling of some type.
     
    gan7114 likes this.
  16. Stryker7314

    Stryker7314 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    261
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Sure they can, you just haven't seen them. There are panels that can run those resolutions natively 1:1 without scaling and the other pixels around the active are black.

    At 80ppi it won't be that small, it is approximately 36.5 inches.

    https://www.sven.de/dpi/
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2019
  17. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    19,166
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    No. The TV is scaling the image to full screen using its own internal scalar. It's physically impossible for an LCD to display a non-native resolution with 1:1 pixel scaling in full screen. Some televisions give you an option to change the scaling behavior, but most just offer aspect ratio control.
     
  18. Stryker7314

    Stryker7314 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    261
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Nope, there are tv's with native display in the settings, question is does this one have it.
     
  19. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,991
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    The logic of your original question is debatable.

    "Can the C9 run 1440P natively 1:1 without scaling and black bars around if you send the 1440P signal with a video card?"
    Did you mean
    a) without scaling and without black bars.
    Or
    b) without scaling and with black bars?

    a) isnt possible, you cannot have native 1:1 using a none native res.
    b) is possible on any display if you set up GPU scaling with scaling turned off.
     
    IdiotInCharge and Armenius like this.
  20. gan7114

    gan7114 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Let me see if I can take a crack at this and clear this up:

    Only a 1440p panel can display a 1440p resolution natively without scaling and without black bars. This is inherently 1:1.

    Otherwise, a 4K panel can (keyword "can"; not all 4K TVs do) natively support a 1440p signal through scaling (no black bars) -- or -- natively support a 1440p signal through 1:1 (with black bars -- which would be a frame box, since you'd have both letter boxes and pillar boxes). I suspect this is what you were asking, in which case I believe the C9 only does the former with respect to 1440p signals (scaling), not the latter (1:1).

    EDIT: The C9 can do both, apparently. :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2019
    Stryker7314 likes this.
  21. Stryker7314

    Stryker7314 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    261
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Turns out it does with a setting called Just Scan that does 1:1 Pixel Mapping.

    Thanks all!
     
    gan7114 likes this.
  22. sharknice

    sharknice [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,819
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    When you disable scaling does it center the image, and can you control the position?

    And has anyone tested a non RTX card yet? I have a 1080ti and would prefer to wait for the 3k series to upgrade.
     
    Stryker7314 likes this.
  23. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    19,166
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Pretty sure it only works with Turing cards, though a clarification in the driver notes would be appreciated.
     
  24. pippenainteasy

    pippenainteasy Gawd

    Messages:
    618
    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
  25. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    19,166
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
  26. gamerk2

    gamerk2 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,651
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    B6 owner here; I'm one of those guys on the fence about getting a C9 now and waiting for 2020's GPUs (which I'm assuming will support HDMI 2.1 for that 4k120 HDR VRR goodness), or holding off.

    And yes, PC Displays are definitely overpriced by about 2x right now. You can literally get a 55" OLED with full HDMI 2.1 support for less then some of these displays.
     
  27. vegeta535

    vegeta535 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,344
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Yep. I seen 55" c9 as low as $1200. The 65" can be had around $1800.
     
  28. pippenainteasy

    pippenainteasy Gawd

    Messages:
    618
    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    The real question is can mini LED fill in gap until micro LED is affordable, and is it good enough. I wouldn't buy an OLED without a Best Buy (burn-in) warranty and that's an extra $600.00. If the TCL mini LED is "close enough" until full blown micro LEDs are cheap enough to make your $600 back, I guess that's the tradeoff versus getting an OLED.
     
  29. kasakka

    kasakka [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    With a big enough Mini-LED array I expect we would get good enough results for HDR with not much haloing. The dual layer LCDs are also promising. Neither will do anything for LCD response times though and those are unlikely to get to OLED levels anytime soon.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  30. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,063
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    We might see strobing tech get more effective to mask LCD response times a bit, but yeah, very unlikely for LCDs to approach OLED.
     
  31. sharknice

    sharknice [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,819
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Has anyone tried to mess with the BFI settings with GSYNC on?
     
  32. tigger1612

    tigger1612 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    I have not.

    I cant get 10bit color depth at 2560x1440 120hz either. It greys out changing color depth even with hdr enabled. Looks like it may have to do with using a pc resolution. Can't change it even at 4k either unless i change to YCbCr422 or 420
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2019
  33. tygeezy

    tygeezy n00b

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Can you confirm whether or not low framerate compensation works with the c9? Im seeing people talking about how it isn't supported by looking at the edid. The 40-120 hz range suggests that it should indeed support it. I wont get my tv until tuesday, but im trying to figure out if I should be relieved or disappointing now, or wait till Tuesday to test myself..
     
  34. sethk

    sethk [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,660
    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    C9 can't do 1440p@120hz 1:1 AFAIK. Enable gpu scaling and thats just a normal 4k60 signal to the TV (also mega burn in).
     
  35. tigger1612

    tigger1612 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Couple things for those getting one:

    1. When in pc mode on hdmi port, SDR content is rgb full so black level setting on picture mode should be set to high.

    2. When HDR is enabled it will switch to rgb/ycbcr limited so change black level to low or image will be washed out.

    3. 2560x1440 cannot be done 1:1 across the entire screen. Oled only has one native/physical resolution of 3840x2160. When gpu scaling is turned off it goes to 1:1 with black bars around all sides. Thats because its only lighting up 2560 horizontal and 1440 vertical pixels.

    4. You are always limited to 8bit color depth unless changing to ycbcr 422 or 420 at 4k60. We need hdmi 2.1 badly.
     
    Baenwort and Armenius like this.
  36. tygeezy

    tygeezy n00b

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    This is the first report i've heard of 1440 p creating black bars. I can also tell you that pc mode with hdr will cause color banding. To remove that you will need to set the input as console or just leave it the way it is. You lose 444, but you also get much smoother gradients.
     
  37. tigger1612

    tigger1612 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    My post mentions doing it 1:1 filling the screen. That is impossible. Oled is fixed pixel so there is only one 1:1 resolution that fills the screen, 3840x2160. Any other resolution is scaled to fill. If u turn off gpu scaling u can output 2560x1440 with black bars all around the image.
     
  38. gamerk2

    gamerk2 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,651
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    IDK if that's true; I have a B6 and play a *lot* of old games, and everything that runs in a 4:3 resolution is stretched to fit the screen; no black bars. Not sure if GPU scaling is enabled on my GPU (1080Ti); whatever is default I guess.
     
  39. sethk

    sethk [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,660
    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Understanding that fixed pixel displays cannot show a non native resolution without scaling happening somewhere (or showing black bars) must either be a difficult concept to understand or be lost in semantics somewhere . English is a difficult language.
     
  40. sharknice

    sharknice [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,819
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    I consider 1:1 mapping a non-native resolution as the "just scan" option of showing black bars if the image is smaller than the screen. Because the only displays that actually changed their native resolution are CRTs which haven't been used by most people in over a decade. It's obviously impossible to change the native resolution of oled, lcd, dlp, etc.

    But I do see how it could be confusing to someone that doesn't know anything about display technology.