question about video card power

Snakebyt

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
1,584
wow.. been while since i have been here.. too long.. I havent been keeping up with computers in general, till last week i was still running the same system i built in 2006.

Here is my question.. friend of mine gave me a video card to use in a new setup i got, it is a eah6870 by asus. It takes 2X 6pin to power it. My power supply only has one 6 pin. Can i run it with one 6pin? or can i get a molex to 6 pin adapter for power? I would really like to run this card in my new setup if possible without buying new Power supply. Any help is appreciated
 

evilsofa

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
10,078
Your PSU probably has only one 6-pin for a reason. You might not actually push the card hard enough to find out the reason, but if you do, bad things can happen if it's a crap PSU. Which is probably is if it only has one 6-pin.

So, what make, model and wattage is the PSU?
 

evilsofa

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
10,078
The main difference between the Ultra LSP line and the Ultra X2 line was that the X2 line was modular. Both were built by Wintech. The Ultra X2 750W was one of the worst failures in HardOCP PSU reviewing history, able to only deliver 364W.

Your system with a 6850 probably won't pull more than 300W. Maybe your PSU will be able to pull that much. Or maybe it won't, if Wintech's quality control was consistent.
 

Snakebyt

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
1,584
well it came in a pc that i got in on a trade. Has onboard video, and it works, just like to make use of a nice video card if i can. Probably wont see much gaming for a while, but never know
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
13,729
well it came in a pc that i got in on a trade. Has onboard video, and it works, just like to make use of a nice video card if i can. Probably wont see much gaming for a while, but never know

If you want our approval, you're going to have to upgrade the PSU. I don't care how "good a trade" you think you got, that PSU model is barely enough to drive onboard video. Trust me, we won't break your pocketbook - but that video card you want to add will put 100w more load on your system.

This PSU was passed by both [H]ardOCP and Johnny Guru with much merit, and is only 50 bucks!

http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-BRONZE-Warranty-Supply-100-B1-0500-KR/dp/B00DGHKK7M

If that's still too much, then you can drop to just 40 bucks on this (still decently rated by Johnny Guru):

http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-Continuous-Warranty-Supply-100-W1-0500-KR/dp/B00H33SFJU

Both these units have two 8-pin PCe adapters , because they can actually provide that much power!

Also, what is your processor model and speed? It might not be powerful enough to play games, so you should tell us before you get this upgrade.

How much ram do you have?

And what games do you want to play?
 
Last edited:

Snakebyt

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
1,584
with my video card only using 6 pin power, will i need adapters to go from the 8 pin to 6 pin?

and thanks for all the help guys
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
13,729
I don't want to "help" you if all you're intent on doing is running that card on that trainwreck PSU. If you were running a Core i3 it would be different, but your system is probably drawing 120-150w with just onboard video.

You're getting almost 250w full load with that video card plus FX series, which is way too close to the danger zone for that 300-350w unit.
 
Last edited:

BigJayDogg3

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
1,674
Most systems I've read about literally going up in flames were systems built with crappy PSUs. Bad power kills components, and while many power supplies will be a "weak link" in a system if there's a power issue, poorly built supplies will not, and will allow crappy power to fry your system.

IMO, a $40-$50 investment isn't a bad idea.That said, this is still your computer. You can get molex to 6-pin adapters and everything will work. How long it will work is the question.
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
13,729
You also don't have to buy the extra molex to 6-pin adapter if you buy the new PSU. It comes with all the connectors you need! :D
 

Snakebyt

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
1,584
i dont mind getting a new PS if thats what i need to be able to run that card. All i was saying is that i got the system in on a trade and didnt actually pick out the components. that Evga PS looks like a good deal though, as long as it has the two 6 pins i need
 

zaniix

Gawd
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
895
It will have two 6+2 connectors,
this is a 6 pin and a 6+2 in the photo
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
13,729
i dont mind getting a new PS if thats what i need to be able to run that card. All i was saying is that i got the system in on a trade and didnt actually pick out the components. that Evga PS looks like a good deal though, as long as it has the two 6 pins i need


Yup, iy does, I checked before I recommended it :D

Enjoy your upgrade!

This PSU has the capacity to handle a more powerful graphics card should your needs change (as high as a GTX 980 Ti or R9 390).
 

CaptNumbNutz

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
21,512
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3276575

i believe that is the PS. I am not in front of the pc to look at it
Holy fuck. That is a ticking time bomb right there. Even moreso if it is several years old. You have a higher statistical probability of getting struck by lighting than this power supply *NOT* failing.


If you want our approval, you're going to have to upgrade the PSU. I don't care how "good a trade" you think you got, that PSU model is barely enough to drive onboard video. Trust me, we won't break your pocketbook - but that video card you want to add will put 100w more load on your system.

This PSU was passed by both [H]ardOCP and Johnny Guru with much merit, and is only 50 bucks!

http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-BRONZE-Warranty-Supply-100-B1-0500-KR/dp/B00DGHKK7M

If that's still too much, then you can drop to just 40 bucks on this (still decently rated by Johnny Guru):

http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-Continuous-Warranty-Supply-100-W1-0500-KR/dp/B00H33SFJU

Both these units have two 8-pin PCe adapters , because they can actually provide that much power!
Everything this man wrote is sound advice.
 

Snakebyt

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
1,584
power supply is new, but i do plan on replacing with one of the evga units.
 
Top