PSU Problem

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MyThLoSt, Aug 8, 2018.

  1. MyThLoSt

    MyThLoSt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    182
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    I was putting together my new build and i could get everything to run and boot to bios except when i plugged my hd in it actually shorted the psu to where you had to turn the power off and wait a little bit then power up. The lights would blink for 1 sec then everything dead. With no hard drive it boots into bios. I tried 2 different hard drives both did the exact same thing. I tried all the different 6 pin ports on the psu and the same. Seasonic support told me to try a fan with the molex and the fans leds wouldn't turn on or the fans spin, but i plugged them into my old pc and all worked. Anyone has something like this happen where like the 6 pin section of the psu doesn't work. It's a seasonic 650 focus+ gold. Seasonic support told me to return it and i have another coming.
     
  2. jmilcher

    jmilcher 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,806
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    I would rma the psu and be done with the situation.

    How did you shirt it out with a hard drive? That's not easy to do with sata or molex.
     
  3. MyThLoSt

    MyThLoSt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    182
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Idk if it technical shorts but it wont boot or anything it just flashes the mobo lights for 1 sec and you have to unplug it and plug it back in for it to start again, and only does it with a hd plugged into it. with a fan it will boot into bios but the fan wont spin or anything like it has no power to it.
     
  4. ~CS~

    ~CS~ Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    486
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Sounds like the PSU was defective, it's rare with a reputable manufacturer like seasonic, but it does happen. Hopefully your HD survived the ordeal.
     
  5. MyThLoSt

    MyThLoSt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    182
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Just to update got the new psu and worked fine but both hds dead, had to buy a new one, but atleast its all working now.