PS3's for the [H]

gnewbury

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - September 2007
Joined
May 4, 2001
Messages
2,544
Ok peeps -
There seems to be a heck of a lot of PS3's folding for default.

It's time to get them to fold for the [H].

Since we are all 15yr old's we need to look around and find any PS3's and get them to fold for the [H],

 

ICE_9

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
3,459
Maybe a D-thread for just these are in order. I have one I can add to that number.:D
 

Tormond

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - June 2007
Joined
May 4, 2003
Messages
1,406
Mine is already folding..I dont know anyone else who has a PS3

 
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
631
Mine is running f@h and I have two friends who own them. Friend #1's first PS3 (a 20 gb) died and he got a 60 so he really doesn't want to push it. Friend #2 still has dial up.

:(

 

natermeister

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
463
I'm going to buy either an XB360 or a PS3 when I get my 1080p Panny plasma. I'm leaning towards the PS3 because it has a hi-def disc player built in AND IT CAN FOLD. I'll do anything to bump my production. Still, the XB360 is definitely the superior gaming machine at this point in time.
 

natermeister

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
463
Amen, brother! :D

If you can afford both.... :rolleyes:


I will be able to buy both, but not at the same time. I think I'll probably get a PS3 first because it'll give me a hi-def disc player. Sure the audio isn't too great on it, but I'll be using TV speakers for some time. My Denon reciever (4308CI) and Monitor Audio setup aren't going to be cheap.
 

natermeister

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
463
No analog outs. Oh, and are those ported PS3 units going to have the same point value? I have two X1900XTs that I don't run simply because I don't think it'd be worth the trouble to get them going.
 

LOCO LAPTOP

[H]F Junkie
Joined
May 4, 2006
Messages
11,209
Mine is running f@h and I have two friends who own them. Friend #1's first PS3 (a 20 gb) died and he got a 60 so he really doesn't want to push it. Friend #2 still has dial up.

:(


why would he have a PS3 and still be on dial up?! :eek:
 

rayman2k2

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 6, 2002
Messages
8,070
No analog outs. Oh, and are those ported PS3 units going to have the same point value? I have two X1900XTs that I don't run simply because I don't think it'd be worth the trouble to get them going.




Yeah, you cant get the DTS-HD and all the new lossless formats with analog out. you need to use optical/coaxial or hdmi.


analog out ftl.
 

Tormond

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - June 2007
Joined
May 4, 2003
Messages
1,406
Yeah, you cant get the DTS-HD and all the new lossless formats with analog out. you need to use optical/coaxial or hdmi.


analog out ftl.

Actually nothing from either side (HD DVD or Blu Ray) can do DTS-HD (or DTS-HD-MA) audio yet. Neither of them can do ANY of the lossless (or high rez lossy) audio thru Coax or Optical either (no enough bandwidth so they both downconvert to DTS). All of the lossless audio (DTS-HD-MA and Dolby THD) as well as DTS-HD and LPCM (uncompressed lossless) will pass over analog outs just fine (that is how my HD DVD players are hooked up as well as HDMI. To do pure bitstream out to a AVR that decodes (like the Onkyo 605/805/905 etc) the DTS-HD-MA and Dolby THD requires HDMI 1.3 but no player from either side allows this as of yet although the announced A-35 from Toshiba and the Onkyo and Integra HD DVD players will allow bitsream passthough according to prerelease information. Haven't seen anything on the Blu Ray side yet to do this.

Yes I spend too much time (and WAY to much money) on my HD setup :) (I have both BD and HD DVD so these things are important to me :) )

Oh yeah and if they will let me fold 5 different ways at once on my PS3 I will do that. Whatever turns in the WU!
 

Spazilton

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 25, 2005
Messages
2,803
I will be able to buy both, but not at the same time. I think I'll probably get a PS3 first because it'll give me a hi-def disc player. Sure the audio isn't too great on it, but I'll be using TV speakers for some time. My Denon reciever (4308CI) and Monitor Audio setup aren't going to be cheap.

Huh?

I know people pushing 25k Home Systems with a PS3.
 

aldamon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 24, 2000
Messages
6,600
[H]ella|[H]ard;1031458518 said:
With the new updates to the PS3 what kind of points are they getting a day?

Unfortunately, the same 900PPD as before. If they gave more points per watt on the PS3 they'd probably have thousands more of them folding.




 

ND40oz

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
12,155
Actually nothing from either side (HD DVD or Blu Ray) can do DTS-HD (or DTS-HD-MA) audio yet. Neither of them can do ANY of the lossless (or high rez lossy) audio thru Coax or Optical either (no enough bandwidth so they both downconvert to DTS). All of the lossless audio (DTS-HD-MA and Dolby THD) as well as DTS-HD and LPCM (uncompressed lossless) will pass over analog outs just fine (that is how my HD DVD players are hooked up as well as HDMI. To do pure bitstream out to a AVR that decodes (like the Onkyo 605/805/905 etc) the DTS-HD-MA and Dolby THD requires HDMI 1.3 but no player from either side allows this as of yet although the announced A-35 from Toshiba and the Onkyo and Integra HD DVD players will allow bitsream passthough according to prerelease information. Haven't seen anything on the Blu Ray side yet to do this.

Yes I spend too much time (and WAY to much money) on my HD setup :) (I have both BD and HD DVD so these things are important to me :) )

Oh yeah and if they will let me fold 5 different ways at once on my PS3 I will do that. Whatever turns in the WU!

PS3 will decode dolby true HD and send it uncompressed to the receiver, something any HDMI 1.1 receiver should be able to handle. Sony's new S500 and S2000ES both support the bitstream output. I imagine the new Denon should too, but I haven't read anything about it yet.

Either way, the PS3 is just free points for folding as it's an appliance that you have in your house that can fold on it's downtime.
 

gnewbury

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - September 2007
Joined
May 4, 2001
Messages
2,544
Unfortunately they do have about 40K active and 255K total PS3's folding. Just not enough fo the [H].
Ours consumes 190w (read from my Kill-A-Watt) when just folding, which for 900ppd beats the pants off my other (nonSMP) boxen. Now if they could just let it fold AND do something else it would be great.
I'd like it to act as a digital picture frame, displaying varying pictures say every 15 minutes, and folding. Or as a music server and fold.

If I remember correctly, before my last update, it consumed a little over 200w just folding.

Do we have any numbers on how many fold for the [H]?

/edit
One upshot for FAH is that this would drive the PS3's GFLOP rate (now typically 35 GFLOPS on a new GB WU) even higher, closer to the peak. Since the peak is something like 200 for the Cell, we still have a lot of room to possibly grow (although it's unclear how close one can get to the theoretical peak -- my guess is that 70 to 90 per PS3 may be the max for us).
from VJ
So they might double the use, now would that double the power consumption?

/edit2
Comparing the cost of a PS3 ($500 w/5free BD's) to a C2D or C2Q from OS2's spreadsheet it seems that every folder could justify 1 for the house. Unless you don't already have the $1.5K option - the 47" LCD HD :)

/edit3

I just read over on Wikipedia that the cost of the 60GB PS3 ($500) is about $100 less than the production cost.
To me the 60GB is worth as much as the 80GB because it does stuff in hardware that the 80 uses software for, plus for about $150 I can upgrade it to a 250GB if I need it.
 
Top