Projectors: How trivial is it to replace a DMD Chip?

KazeoHin

[H]F Junkie
Hello all.

I am so wildly out-of place when looking at projectors and whatnot. I see a lot of projectors selling on Ebay with DMD faults. A few Google searches tell me its about a $200 fix, but requires getting one's hands dirty actually taking things apart. I trust you guys more than any hack on Youtube, so let me know.

I'm a career PC technician, so I'm not afraid of replacing parts or whatnot, but is this something a PC technician would be able to do easily, or will it require precision soldering, micrometre adjustment or cleanroom access?

If it's as easy as swapping out a RAM chip, then I'll see if I can buy a as-is projector and take my chances, but if it's going to require an electrical engineering degree, I'm not sure it will be money well spent.

Hello all.

I am so wildly out-of place when looking at projectors and whatnot. I see a lot of projectors selling on Ebay with DMD faults. A few Google searches tell me its about a $200 fix, but requires getting one's hands dirty actually taking things apart. I trust you guys more than any hack on Youtube, so let me know.

I'm a career PC technician, so I'm not afraid of replacing parts or whatnot, but is this something a PC technician would be able to do easily, or will it require precision soldering, micrometre adjustment or cleanroom access?

If it's as easy as swapping out a RAM chip, then I'll see if I can buy a as-is projector and take my chances, but if it's going to require an electrical engineering degree, I'm not sure it will be money well spent.

Doesn't require any degree or knowledge, just tools and patience. Service manual would be handy.

You can prolly pick up a working dmd off eBay for cheaper than 200

Thanks for the quick response!

So if I see a BenQ W5000 with a DMD issue going for cheap, it's a pretty good find?