Project: Gear Up

CaptainUnlikely

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - May 2014
So, I'm fairly new to the team and forum, but I came over here to DC and kick ass, and, well, I already kicked all the ass that needed kicking (elsewhere) :cool:

I decided to go ahead with the purchase of a few older servers at a decent price - they're NEC 120RGs, which are dual socket 771 setups. There's 11 of them, and they came with 2x1GB RAM and 1 x Xeon 5130 in each, plus 3 HDDs. Apparently the HDDs weren't being detected, I've only messed with one of the servers so far but it seems fine, possibly user error. My intention is to upgrade them with either low voltage duals or quads, and up the RAM, then use them for DC.

I only have one picture so far, and not too much progress - I started the top one up, it POSTed, and chucked out a ton of dust. I've tested it with an L5320 and an E5310 which I had laying around, both worked fine despite not being officially supported so I'm now going to try a 5148 which is a low voltage dual core, to see what happens. Then I can decide what to deck them all out with. I have a fair few 1GB and 2GB modules of RAM laying around, I'll pick some more up as and when I can - it's DDR2 FBDIMMs so not particularly cheap unfortunately. I'm also going to pick up a power monitor to see how much they draw. I have a 24 port switch I am picking up tomorrow to connect them all up, and I have some Ikea Lack tables to make Lackracks!

Anyhow, here's the picture of them all stacked up when they arrived this morning

More to come over the next few days as I clean them all up and get them running!

I have many DDR2 FBDIMMs available if you need some. Cost of shipping only.

Forgot to mention, I'm in the UK, so shipping might be prohibitive? This is assuming you're in the US as most here seem to be :) if not, or if shipping internationally isn't a problem, that would be fantastic!