power supply recommendations?

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
hello all, im planning a new build soon due to having to change some things around but im not so sure which way to go with the PSU, the extreme PSU calculator says around 804W peak usage (so 100%) and 729W at about 90% (this is with a 6990 on the list bare in mind as i may be acquiring one cheap) so, from this what's my best option PSU wise? would i be able to get away with a decent 850W from seasonic or would that be cutting it a bit fine?

spec wise it's 2 opteron 6272's, a supermicro H8DG6-F, im planning on filling up all the ram slits eventually, a 7950 to start with (then maybe a 6990 or perhaps just a second 7950), few fans along with 2 HDD's and one SSD
 

jedimasterben

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,334
Is this going to be a gaming machine? Those processors would get creamed by an i3 in gaming.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
Is this going to be a gaming machine? Those processors would get creamed by an i3 in gaming.

a mix of the lot, i've basically been told that i need to water my servers back and im to have one system only, i've proposed this as an idea to replace the lot with one system with enough resources to do all of it, so yes this will be used for gaming but im not expecting great things from it in that respect, as long as it does well enough im not so fussed really, and to be fair too im only paying like £140 for the board, CPU's, 2 8gb ECC dimms and a sound card so it's not exactly steep either for what it has on offer, i need the cores more than anything else really, most of my college work is on a RAID 1 array in my server which i access remotely, makes more sense that way for me, USB sticks are too unreliable for me, i've lost work before this way too many times.
 

jedimasterben

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,334
If you need a system with as much uptime and reliability as possible for other purposes, then I would get this combo and set it up and have a second system for daily use and gaming.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
If you need a system with as much uptime and reliability as possible for other purposes, then I would get this combo and set it up and have a second system for daily use and gaming.

as it stands at the moment i can only have one system so it's either keep my current setup and lose my servers or have one system that can do all my work and the servers in VM's, i will be gaming on it but not a massive amount and ill be looking into either higher clocked CPU's OR the engineering samples which are overclockable as soon as i can afford them, i can't really afford to lose my servers as i both can't and won't go back to using USB sticks and portable drives lack redundancy as i prefer realtime 'backups' (though raid 1 doesn't quite work that way in concept it is i suppose)
 

jedimasterben

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,334
Why can you only have one system? you keep talking about reliability and redundancy and all that but want to use the same physical system as your daily driver.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
Why can you only have one system? you keep talking about reliability and redundancy and all that but want to use the same physical system as your daily driver.

basically it's the heat output and the amount of power the servers use, old P4's and allot of power usage, i know these optys won't be great for power but they'll be more efficient than an 8320 and 2 old P4's and a crap ton of hard drives (given that all the PSU's are low efficiency, my main rig is the only rated unit apart from my nas) looking at the numbers and totting it all up it'll be cheaper this way, basically i still live with my parents (legally i kind of have to being 17 the laws here state that) and i've been told i need to slim down to one system, i have proposed this idea and my parents agreed to it so whilst it's not going to be incredibly efficient it will at least be more so than the systems im running at the moment given all 3 are on 24/7 and a bonus is the reduced heat output too as the P4's chuck out an immense amount of heat to say they're on crappy coolers
 

jedimasterben

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,334
If you really want to reduce heat output, if you're only using these servers to store your data, why not just buy a Celeron J2900 (10w TDP) and a PCI-e RAID card (if you don't already have one)? They're dirt cheap, really powerful, and sip power. Just keep it headless, just need a power cord and a network cable.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
If you really want to reduce heat output, if you're only using these servers to store your data, why not just buy a Celeron J2900 (10w TDP) and a PCI-e RAID card (if you don't already have one)? They're dirt cheap, really powerful, and sip power.


that's one option too but if im honest i could do with a nice project, i have to save for it myself like but it's killing two birds with one stone i suppose :p im not expecting amazing things from it, as long as it does what im wanting it to do im set :p

and to be honest there are some aspects of my main system im not amazingly happy about, like the SSD for example is rated for 550MB/s read and 150MB/s write yet i get about 220MB/s read and about 100MB/s write due to sata 2, i can use the sas controller on this new board from the project idea to get sata 6GBs so i should at least get closer to my rated spec, really i suppose i fancy a change too.
 

jedimasterben

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,334
The Celeron boards I've seen all have at least 2x SATA III ports ;)


Getting the new setup will be good if you're looking for something to tinker with, but like I mentioned before, if you're wanting reliability and redundancy you don't want to be tinkering with it lol
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
The Celeron boards I've seen all have at least 2x SATA III ports ;)


Getting the new setup will be good if you're looking for something to tinker with, but like I mentioned before, if you're wanting reliability and redundancy you don't want to be tinkering with it lol

most of the enjoyment with PC's comes from building i find so it's that that i think will be a good one, especially since i plan on doing the (with the help of my dad who was a mechanical engineer for 20 odd years :p) ''[H] musky mod'' so it'll be a bit more challenging than a normal build, once it's all set up ill not be fiddling with it too much other than the occasional upgrade so perhaps ram or a GPU or something along those lines
 

Simmonz

2[H]4U
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
2,506
hello all, im planning a new build soon due to having to change some things around but im not so sure which way to go with the PSU, the extreme PSU calculator says around 804W peak usage (so 100%) and 729W at about 90% (this is with a 6990 on the list bare in mind as i may be acquiring one cheap) so, from this what's my best option PSU wise? would i be able to get away with a decent 850W from seasonic or would that be cutting it a bit fine?

spec wise it's 2 opteron 6272's, a supermicro H8DG6-F, im planning on filling up all the ram slits eventually, a 7950 to start with (then maybe a 6990 or perhaps just a second 7950), few fans along with 2 HDD's and one SSD

I would recommend the EVGA G2 1000 Watt or the Corsair RM1000. If you're going to be using close to 800 watts at peak than it's unwise to cut it close with an 850 watt. Less strain on the PSU and less noise from the fan.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
I would recommend the EVGA G2 1000 Watt or the Corsair RM1000. If you're going to be using close to 800 watts at peak than it's unwise to cut it close with an 850 watt. Less strain on the PSU and less noise from the fan.

all comes down to budget but a decent 850W is worst case scenario, i have heard good things of the RM series and if it all fits in it's looking the best way to go otherwise it's EVGA, if i end up with more than expected then i may go for a seasonic 1000W
 

kierwest

n00b
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
0
a 7950 to start with (then maybe a 6990 or perhaps just a second 7950) said:
A 6990 is a waste of money. It's old, won't run as fast a newer cards for the same price, and it is the biggest space heater.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
A 6990 is a waste of money. It's old, won't run as fast a newer cards for the same price, and it is the biggest space heater.

the only reason it's on there is because id be getting it dirt cheap from a friend, it'd be no more than £40
 

jedimasterben

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,334
the only reason it's on there is because id be getting it dirt cheap from a friend, it'd be no more than £40
I replaced two 6970 that were pretty heavily overclocked with a single GTX 780 and saw about double the performance even in older games. If you've already got a 7950, it will probably perform as good or better in most titles depending on Crossfire support (which was pretty poor for the 6000 series).
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
I replaced two 6970 that were pretty heavily overclocked with a single GTX 780 and saw about double the performance even in older games. If you've already got a 7950, it will probably perform as good or better in most titles depending on Crossfire support (which was pretty poor for the 6000 series).

it's just a consideration really, might be something fun to play about with in any case XD

im probably going to settle for another 7950 on the long run as soon as i can swap out this tri slot one for a dual slot one XD (spacing on the board for PCI-E 16x isn't great)
 

jedimasterben

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,334
it's just a consideration really, might be something fun to play about with in any case XD

im probably going to settle for another 7950 on the long run as soon as i can swap out this tri slot one for a dual slot one XD (spacing on the board for PCI-E 16x isn't great)
Are you sure that the Supermicro motherboard supports Crossfire or SLI?
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
Are you sure that the Supermicro motherboard supports Crossfire or SLI?

i can guarantee it supports crossfire as my friend whom im buying it from is running 2 290's on it as we speak, SLI on the other hand i do not believe it does without using an SLI patch and VERY old drivers XD so CF only for me really XD
 

jamesd168

n00b
Joined
Feb 16, 2015
Messages
2
most of the enjoyment with PC's comes from building i find so it's that that i think will be a good one, especially since i plan on doing the (with the help of my dad who was a mechanical engineer for 20 odd years :p) ''[H] musky mod'' so it'll be a bit more challenging than a normal build, once it's all set up ill not be fiddling with it too much other than the occasional upgrade so perhaps ram or a GPU or something along those lines


How about this? you can build my pc for me and get all the enjoyment.:p
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
How about this? you can build my pc for me and get all the enjoyment.:p

if i had the money don't think i wouldn't do :p im all for giving back to the people when i can afford it :p

to be fair this is going to take about 4 months to get the money for just the board and CPU's (and maybe some ram) let along a case and PSU to go with it XD im just getting recommendations in advanced :p
 

D4rkn3ss

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
2,595
nice to see a fellow monogatari fan here anyways :3

nyanyame nyanyaju nyanyado nyanyabi de nyaku nyaku nyanyaku nyanyahanya nyanyanyai nyan nyanku nyarabe nyanyame!

tumblr_m9h7cpXRnz1rpcp44o1_500.gif


:D:D:D:D:D
 

Tsumi

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
13,497
... you guys made me have to check out Bakemonogatori now.
 

D4rkn3ss

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
2,595
i dont use ocn, dont like the layout of their pages, it annoys me, blegh.
 
Top