Post your SMP times

zim01

Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
1,004
Marty's right new core slightly slower
2604 13 100 1300 60 21.67 24 1.107692308 1210 1340.307692 dual opty 280's 4 gigs
2605 13 100 1300 60 21.67 24 1.107692308 1760 1949.538462 dual opty 280's 4 gigs
2605 25 100 2500 60 41.67 24 0.576 1760 1013.76 dell 1850 dual 3.2 HT on
2605 8 100 800 60 13.33 24 1.8 1760 3168 dual 5160's
3009 3 100 300 60 5.00 24 4.8 586 2812.8 dual 5160's


sorry the lines don't line up project# first, PPD to right just before machine description.
a dell 1850 dual 3.2 can turn 1000PPD which is damn close to my dual 5160's on an amber day

Vj is giving some super points, for this effort, so get cracking.

32 bit client a ways out
Windows, don't hold your breath
Simple run just like the windows client

ALSO...you will see cpu usage,like, 98,87,60,42......not 100,100,100,100...as we currently do
 

zim01

Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
1,004
ICE_9 said:
So your saying I should get that dual socket dual core mobo?

....I'm saying that you should look at what you have now.....and decide what $$$/PPD makes sense for you
 

Imitation

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
2,536
Dang thats [H]. Almost makes me want to wipe my vista rc1 hard drive and download some linux for the opty. Or does it not scale down to 2 cores very well? Or am I asking this in the wrong thread?

 

zim01

Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
1,004
it'll run, but slower...can't hurt to try it..like it use it, not go back :)
 

zim01

Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
1,004
3006 5.5 100 550 60 9.17 24 2.62 578 1513.31 dual opty 280's 4 gigs
 

unhappy_mage

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2005
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Messages
11,455
Code:
proj	?	frm ?		?		?		?	?		pts		ppd?		machine
2604	13	100	1300	60		21.67	24	1.1077	1210	1340.307692	dual opty 280's 4 gigs
2605	13	100	1300	60		21.67	24	1.1077	1760	1949.538462	dual opty 280's 4 gigs
2605	25	100	2500	60		41.67	24	0.576	1760	1013.76		dell 1850 dual 3.2 HT on
2605	8	100	800		60		13.33	24	1.8		1760	3168		dual 5160's
3009	3	100	300		60		5.00	24	4.8		586		2812.8		dual 5160's
Formatting fixed. Columns not fixed :p

 

Killer[MoB]

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2008
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Messages
3,943

AMD 3800+X2 (2720 Mhz)
Suse 10.1

The P2605 was with the old core so it may be a little slower next time around for me.
 

Roman79

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 2, 2000
Messages
1,393
I'm not really clear on what's happening here....

So SMP client > 2 x regular clients?
And why is it slower on a dual core cpu as opposed to a dual socket?

 

Killer[MoB]

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2008
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Messages
3,943
Roman79 said:
I'm not really clear on what's happening here....

So SMP client > 2 x regular clients?
And why is it slower on a dual core cpu as opposed to a dual socket?

Yes, SMP is greater than 2 or 4 regular clients. Running SMP carries a bonus.

As for the second question, it depends on what dual core cpu you are comparing to what dual socket setup. Is the dual socket board running faster CPUs or running 2 dual core CPUs (which would be 4 CPU cores vs 2)?
 

zim01

Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
1,004
Roman79 said:
I'm not really clear on what's happening here....

So SMP client > 2 x regular clients?
And why is it slower on a dual core cpu as opposed to a dual socket?


SMP requires the following

dual xeons running HT aren't really 4 full cpus, so are slower
2 dual core are true 4 cpu's
 

marty9876

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2006
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
4,905
Roman79 said:
But isn't SMP by definition 2+ CPUs? So why do you need 4?

Stanford is running 4 threads, so idealy one thread per physical core. This client will run on a dual setup (loades each core with 2x threads), they benchmark it on a single CPU system.
 

Killer[MoB]

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2008
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Messages
3,943
P3007
587 Points
9:28 per frame
892 PPD

3800+X2 @ 2.72GHz
SUSE 10.1 64bit
 

marty9876

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2006
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
4,905
Ya get 900 PPD off that X2 many othre ways Killer?
 

Imitation

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
2,536
marty9876 said:
Ya get 900 PPD off that X2 many othre ways Killer?

Yeah I'd say that's a solid boost. I only pull in about 620 on the 170 with dual 600 pointers. Only issue I've got with running it right now is the fact that I'm getting boned by the MBA don't have time to switch and config linux :( Everyone else has NO excuses! :p :D j/k

 

mwarps

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 6, 2002
Messages
7,023
Looks like it's time to get linux fired up on my Opty 165 and my Lappy. A week's worth of fun!
 

sobe

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
346
I was excited about running this beta on one of my Compaq DL380's but in my haste I had forgotten that it only has 32bit processors :( So I loaded up 2 instances of single core :cool:
 

Killer[MoB]

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2008
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Messages
3,943
P3006
587 Points
9:09 per frame
923 PPD

3800+X2 @ 2.72GHz
SUSE 10.1 64bit
 
Joined
May 14, 2005
Messages
954
SMP-msv-03
587 pts
11:10/frame
757PPD
AM2 4200 2.2ghz (cheap board non-OCable)
SUSU 10.1 64 Bit
Thanks for the setup help Killer[MoB]
 
Joined
May 14, 2005
Messages
954
I got my second AM2 4200 unit running on Fedora Core 4 because SUSE would not detect any drives but the good news is its a bit faster at 10:50sec/frame. I'm going to let these two run for a while to make sure no problems crop up then I'm going to set up my last one (X2 4400)
 
Joined
May 14, 2005
Messages
954
I've got my third one up and running. AMD X2 4400@ 2.35ghz (I have some clocking issues on this NF4 board I'll work on later) running SUSE 10.1. Frame time is 9min 50sec
Not Bad 4 machines (2 AM2 4200's, (1) X2 4400@2.35ghz with SMP and a GPU folder (X2 3800@2.5ghz 1950Pro) getting ~3100PPD
 

Killer[MoB]

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2008
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Messages
3,943
So I had a ECS board that I got free from Fry's with the purchase for one of my X2s. I got to thinking about it just sitting over there on the shelf. That lead to me purchasing a 170 for my main rig and dropping the removed X2 in the cheapo ECS.

P3009
587 points
11:36 per frame
728 PPD

X2 3800+ @ 2.0ghz
SUSE 10.1 64bit

The Opty is doing nicely in my windows box. 2850 on air. 1GPU/1CPU producing about 741 PPD despite a steady diet of P2124/2125 units on the CPU.

Looking at about 2300 PPD from my three boxen. :cool:
 

zim01

Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
1,004
dual 5160's

project 2605

[07:13:56] Completed 25000 out of 500000 steps (5 percent)
[07:22:01] Writing local files
[07:22:01] Completed 30000 out of 500000 steps (6 percent)

8 +/- minutes
 

Killer[MoB]

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2008
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Messages
3,943
zim01 said:
dual 5160's

project 2605

[07:13:56] Completed 25000 out of 500000 steps (5 percent)
[07:22:01] Writing local files
[07:22:01] Completed 30000 out of 500000 steps (6 percent)

8 +/- minutes

Wow!
For those that don't know:
P2605 = 1760 points.
Intel 5160 is a dual core woodcrest xeon @ 3ghz. (times two for his box)
8:05 per frame is 3135 PPD. :cool:
 

Imitation

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
2,536
zim01 said:
dual 5160's

project 2605

[07:13:56] Completed 25000 out of 500000 steps (5 percent)
[07:22:01] Writing local files
[07:22:01] Completed 30000 out of 500000 steps (6 percent)

8 +/- minutes

Speaking of points, where did all of yours go zim? EOC doesn't show you turning anything in in the last 3 days.
 

ChrisII

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
91
I'm folding for overclock.net and have rapidly become one of the top 3 folders in our team, with only 3 cores:

p2605 - 11m32s per frame (~2200ppd)
p3007 - 5m40s per frame (~1450ppd)

Those are the minimum time per frame that I got on my C2D @ 3.2GHz (E6300).

I have a D915 folding too but on a Windows console.
 
Joined
May 14, 2005
Messages
954
I just picked up (2) 2605's on 2 of my AM2 4200's. 24min/frame each. 1000PPD/ machine
I've got my 4400 clocked to 2.53ghz and am getting 9min 9sec/frame for 587pointers for 927PPD
 
Top