Please recommend a CPU for low-latency .vst performance!

MIDIBoss

Weaksauce
I am a musician and one of the things I do is play the EWI which is a windsynth breath-sensitive MIDI controller. I used to mainly use analog synths as soundsources, but slowly I have gravitated more towards software to the point that I'm basically always in software mode now.

My computer is a 2010 Macbook Pro 2.6ghz dual core machine. It does ok at 128 samples i/o buffer with most simple .vst tasks, but I have to lower the performance level of some of the synths I use and I can't layer very many synths at once to create multi-patches without getting the infamous nasty crackles & pops as the CPU in this humble but faithful machine tries to keep up with what I'm asking it to do.

I use a lot of Native Instruments Reaktor 6, FM8, Kontakt, a lot of Dune 2 (a real CPU hog), Dexed, TAL U-NO-LX, and sometimes Omnisphere.

Reaktor 6 is especially tough on CPU (it is a single-core .vst), and Dune 2 also has to be watered down in terms of polyphony, unison voice counts, & modulation resolution in order to get it to work on my machine.

My DAW is Usine Hollyhock 3 which makes great usage of multicore processors. Reaktor 6, on the other hand, needs very fast single core speed. My computer doesn't really have either of those characteristics.

I want to build a dedicated music supercomputer with a CPU that can really slay all my .vst problems, but I'm not certain of the best one to select. I want the computer to be able to run at lower latency settings like 64, 32, or maybe even 16 samples i/o buffer speed, and I want to be able to layer more synths together to create multi-patches without watering down the settings so much.

Right now, my idea is to build around the new Intel 8700k that's coming out, delid, and overclock it as fast as possible. It will have 6 cores and 12 threads and if I can keep it cool enough, all 6 cores will clock in at over 4.0ghz according to the rumored specs.