Please help me find FAST DDR4000 16gb x4 (64gb) set of ram for upcoming ryzen 5950x build

newls1

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
4,403
Looking for a 4000MT/s 64gb total set of ram... either 16gbx2 (get 2 sets) or 16gb x4 complete set of memory that will do DDR4000 with somewhat tight timings. was going to do 32gb total using some of the Patriot DDR4400 B-Die sets but that capacity will be cutting it too close for my needs. So far, ive been eyeing this ( https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820374021?Item=N82E16820374021 ) obviously ill be getting 2 sets, but you think this will be good for ryzen or do we thing some new sets will be dropping in the market in the coming weeks for new ryzen cpus?? Please toss me out some options or something better, etc... Thanks
 

Shikami

Gawd
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
769
You can possibly get two sets that are manufactured at different times and therefore be different chips. Say, one can be Samsung and the others are Hynix. It would be more advisable to get a 4x64 (64GB) rather than a two 2x16 (32GB). You are guaranteed that they are all manufactured and tested as the same when buying 4x64-very important. Just my 2¢
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
960
For Zen 3, does the memory clock:infinity fabric timing ratio still change over from 1:1 to 2:1 at memory speeds >3733? If so, then using anything faster could actually be detrimental to performance in some apps:
https://www.anandtech.com/show/1452...itecture-analysis-ryzen-3000-and-epyc-rome/11

Though some mainboards apparently do allow you to change this cutoff point, the ability to do so effectively (like most overclock options, of course) is subject to the CPU lottery.

If this is for a gaming box, then RAM speed/timings typically don't have a huge impact on performance anyways (and 64 GB is a huge amount aside from some possible outliers e.g., FS2020)
 

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
6,617
i know its a risk...

It's not a risk at this level lol. At slow arse speeds with ram no one wants yea that could be a real risk. But at 4000mhz highly binned ICs, that's not a concern. The bigger concern which YOU should keep in mind is that you are wanting the highest density sticks and should think about the reality that the IMC will most probably not run anywhere near 4000mhz at that density.
 

Starfalcon

Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2020
Messages
529
Yeah you will not get a 64GB set of memory to run at 4000, and combining 2 32 gig kits will most likely end in failure. A 4 stick set is designed to work together at the speed it is rated at, and combining 2 different kits may end up with different chips or firmware that will not work together. You will want to make sure you pick a 64GB kit off your QVL or will run into problems, and you may be stuck with kits that dont work with your board.
 

bjtag

n00b
Joined
Oct 8, 2005
Messages
37
Not True had 2 2x16 different Kits of B-Die https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820232768?Item=N82E16820232768
3900x On Asus CH8 X570 Running at 3866Mhz 1.48v 14-16-16-36-52 trfc 416 GDM-On 1T with 1-1 Infinity Fabric 1933Mhz....
With some more Tuning probably lower timings and volts. These Kits on 2-1 infinity Fab will run 4400mhz 19-19-19 1.5v
G-Skill have newer version of these that time at 4000Mhz 17-17-17 1.4v Probably tighten timings on these real good...
Have 3 other 2x16 kits of B-Die that won't run Higher then 3200Mhz even at 2 Volts!!!
So Zen3 will Probably run 4000 1-1 Infinity Fabric.
People have already talked about 4000 1-1 Zen3.
Also New Micron Dies Clock high even with high density 2x32gb will easy run 3600mhz stock XMP settings on Zen2.
 
Last edited:

Tanquen

Gawd
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
966
I'm also looking at a new 5950x with DDR 4000. I was looking at 64GB and 128GB 4 stick kits and there are more 4x32 than 4x16 DDR 4000. ???

I have 64GB now that is 8x8 1600 I think and I've not been low on RAM even running a few VMs and so on.
 

Hakaba

Gawd
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
875
I am possibly in the same boat as you. All I would do is wait a few and see which memory works best.
 

dasa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
497
I have seen some people hit 4200 1:1 but I had to spend days tweaking just to get it to post at 3800 1:1.
Seems hit and miss but I am hopeffuly it is mostly a MB issue that can be improved with future BIOS and just not CPU quality variance.
 

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
6,617
I have seen some people hit 4200 1:1 but I had to spend days tweaking just to get it to post at 3800 1:1.
Seems hit and miss but I am hopeffuly it is mostly a MB issue that can be improved with future BIOS and just not CPU quality variance.

It's entirely down to the IMC and your ram.
 

dasa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
497
My RAM is 8GB sticks 3200c14 b die that can hit 4000+ no problem so if my 5800X IMC is only capable of 3733-3800 while others are capable of 4200+ that is very disappointing and a larger variance in Silicon quality than I would expect.

At this stage there seems to be those stuck under 3800 and those that hit 4000+ with not much inbetween which suggests to me that the problem may be the BIOS and not a IMC limitation.

Mind you even at 3800 I was able to get around 52ns latency which isn't bad but I am still hopping for a BIOS update to allow 4000+ and under 50ns.
https://postimg.cc/0KYDhtKw
 
Last edited:

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
6,617
My RAM is 8GB sticks 3200c14 b die that can hit 4000+ no problem so if my 5800X IMC is only capable of 3733-3800 while others are capable of 4200+ that is very disappointing.

I dunno if I'd call it disappointing cuz it's a skill to get the fabric maxed out. Some can do it with ease and others cannot crack 1800 let alone 1900 and now we have 2000. Shrugs...

Btw, what is this about 4200mhz on dram? That means the fabric is running at 2100mhz on VERMEER? Have you got a link to that cuz I've never read of any such success. Renoir is one thing but Vermeer...
 

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
6,617

dasa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
497
Yeah IOD V is a bit high.
Kinda odd that he would set VDDG IOD higher than the SOC as it is usually derived from the SOC so it would be at most a little lower than the SOC no matter how high it is set.

Here is 2033 with only 1.1V SOC 1.048V IOD
https://www.overclock.net/cdn-cgi/i....net/attachments/20201115_091427-jpg.2465496/

For me it doesn't matter how much V I throw at the IMC it makes absolutely no difference to stability so I just leave it at 0.99SOC 900\900.

Actually all the results I have found so far from people getting over 4000 with ease seem to be from Asus ITX or DTX X570 MB.
Need to see if I can find some people having success with B550.
 
Last edited:

Tanquen

Gawd
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
966
I have a 4 stick DDR4 4000MHz kit and with one stick it doesn't use the XMP and puts both the RAM and FClk at 1300.

If I use 2 it will use the XMP profile and put the ram and 4000 and the FClk at 1800.

If I use 4 it drops both back down to 1300. I can set the RAM speed manually to 1600 but that is it. :(

With 2 I can also set the RAM and FClk at 1900 but the benchmarks are worse than having both at 1800. Why?

The whole RAM thing is a mess. Even if you check the QVL there is no guarantee and good luck finding most of the kits on the list.

I got the 4000 kit in the hopes of running the RAM and FClk at 1800 or 1900.
 

dasa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
497
With 2 I can also set the RAM and FClk at 1900 but the benchmarks are worse than having both at 1800. Why?
What are you using to test speed?
AIDA64 and 3dmark timespy are good but they are sensitive to background processes which can give them a fair margin of error.

Can you upload a screenshot of ZenTimings and your benchmark at 1800 & 1900.
 

dasa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
497
I just find it odd that those that can get past 1900IF are seeing further scaling from voltage while I am seeing no scaling from any V change (positive or negative) and the only thing that allowed me to even post at 1900IF and eventually stabilize it was setting RttWr RZQ/3 and RttPark RZQ/1.

AMD
We are working on additional optimizations for 1900-2000MHz fabric clocks in our next AGESA release.
 
Last edited:

Tanquen

Gawd
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
966
What are you using to test speed?
AIDA64 and 3dmark timespy are good but they are sensitive to background processes which can give them a fair margin of error.

Can you upload a screenshot of ZenTimings and your benchmark at 1800 & 1900.
Cinebench

Score RAM FClk CPU
4682 2000 1800 4.7 OC
4672 1800 1800 4.7 OC
4634 1600 1800 4.7 OC
4578 1800 1800 4.6 OC
4336 1900 1900 4.6 OC
4335 1800 1800 Stock
4311 2000 1800 Stock
4069 2000 1900 Stock

I also did some games and they mostly followed the above. I wonder if I can tighten RAM timings when not running the KIT at 2000?
 
Top