pfSense build - advice

Churnd

n00b
It's my first build & I could use some guidance. What I hope to do:

1. Firewall
  2. DHCP Server
  3. Local DNS Server & DNS forwarder (caching maybe?)
  4. OpenVPN Server
  5. Snort

Right now I have an Apple Airport Extreme base station which is my primary router. I'd turn it into an access point & let pfSense handle DHCP stuff.

Here's my parts list:

1 - SYBA SY-ADA40050 Mini-SATA to 2.5" SATA Adapter

1 - StarTech PNL9M16 9 Pin Serial Male to 10 Pin Motherboard Header Panel Mount Cable

2 - Crucial 1GB 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Laptop Memory Model CT12864BC1067

1 - Wintec 4GB mSATA Solid State Disk 33100003

1 - OEM Production 2550L2D-MxPC Intel NM10 Black Mini / Booksize Barebone System - OEM

My home network is 30Mb/s down, 3Mb/s up & I actually get those rates.

My two main concerns:
  1. Is this enough horsepower for what I want to do?
  2. Will my throughput be affected at all?

I'm also still learning pfSense, so if some of the stuff doesn't make sense, that's why.

I don't plan on having multiple vLans or the need for more than one WAN & one LAN port on this appliance. I have the Airport Extreme LAN ports & also a Netgear GS108T switch. The Netgear isn't doing anything other than basic "switching" right now.

Truth be told, I might want to play around with other options later as I discover them, so if you think I might get bit by that, tell me now.

Thank you, sirs & madams

I'd double the memory if using snort and use an old laptop HDD for storage to keep costs down. pfSense loads into memory and doesn't really use storage for more than logs while running. The serial port is not strictly needed- I've never actually bothered accessing my pfSense boxen over serial.
Horsepower is more than enough.