Overclocking noob needs help with Q6600

Shark974

Limp Gawd
I am an extreme amateur, I overclocked my Q6600 to 2.8 ghz, which is all I wanted because stability is high priority for me (didn't try to clock higher). So far it has been running great in normal operation with temps in the mid 40's I believe, so no problems there,

Some questions...

What is a good program for stress testing? I downloaded prime 95, but I just ran it for a while then stopped it because worried about my temps. It really doesnt give me any info like I wanted such as if there were any errors or if my CPU was stable for however long it ran, it just says stopped when you press stop, I need a simple program to assure me my CPU is stable. I also dont want to brutally torture the CPU or anything like some programs advertise, just want to know it will be ok on games like Crysis.

What is a good CPU temp monitoring program? I download core temp, after reading a lot about it I became more confused than ever if it was reliable. Some guy on a forum post I googled said to offset the temps on it ten degrees because the tjmaxx in the program on the Q6600 is supposedly too high by ten. so I did. But that worries me that my temps could be even ten higher than what it says (if the advice was wrong). Anyway with the ten degree offset, after a few minutes of prime 95 my temp on one core got up to 72 and was still slowly climbing, at that point I got scared and stopped it. Is that too high? Wont these CPU's automatically shut down if they get too hot and prevent any damage?

I'm on stock cooling. Is that ok? I'm doing this to give my system a cheap boost (i'm buying a 6870 and dont want to spend the $ to upgrade the whole rig). If I was to get better cooling,. I would not want to spend more than ~$20, preferably $10 on it, as that defeats the purpose of cheap upgrade. Any good aftermarket coolers that fit that bill? Or am I ok on stock cooling?