Overclocking GPUs (newbie questions)

metallicaband

Limp Gawd
Hello all,

I'm pretty new to overclocking Graphic cards, they didn't interest me much before because the performance to heat/power consumption ratio wasn't so good compared to overclocking CPUs.

I'm more interested in Overclocking Nvidia cards, will be getting a GTX 460 soon and I know those are one of the cards that generally have great overclock value, so I'd like to take advantage of that till I get a nice GPU maybe when the 700 series cards are released or the 670s/680s see a price drop.

So my questions are:

1- What's the preferred application to overclock GPUs these days, is MSI afterburner a good choice or should I go with something else?

2- Is it recommended to flash the BIOS with the overclocked values so I won't have to run an application on system startup? i.e the BIOS flash overclock will be more stable than application controlled overclock?

3- I'm only interested in getting Real world video game performance boost, not just getting high numbers in certain synthetic benchmarks to increase my e-peen or whatever, so how much does increasing the Shader clocks and Memory clocks effect FPS in real games? I know that core clocks will definitely change the performance but I'm not so sure about those.

4- Is this the correct way to overclock the core, shader and memory clocks:

> Find max stable core clock at desired safe voltage value
> Reset values
> Find max stable shader clock at desired safe voltage value
> Reset values
> Find max stable memory clock at desired safe voltage value
> Reset values
> Run all together at their max values and decrease across the board if they're not stable together

??

Any help/tips/suggestions would be appreciated.

ps: Mods please move this thread if it belongs in the overclocking board, I posted it here because discussions are mostly about general cooling and CPU overclocking over there.