Overclock question with P5k Deluxe with E6850

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by extreme22, Jul 28, 2007.

  1. extreme22

    extreme22 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Hi i have a p5k deluxe with E6850 Reaper 9200 1155mhz and Tuniq with
    asus en8800gts640
    i am looking to over clock to 4GHz,
    does anyone know how to thanks
     
  2. ScYcS

    ScYcS 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,954
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    If you don't know how, then you won't reach 4GHZ. If you do, then you have the "magic" chip. And don't tell me you can because others have done it.
     
  3. orion23

    orion23 Gawd

    Messages:
    879
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    It's a matter of luck.

    You have a great board, and great RAM. It's all about the CPU now.

    Here are the main settings for a 3.6ghz overclock: (Thanks to EVA2000)

    For 4ghz, just change the FSB from 400mhz to 445mhz and increase the CPU Voltage.

    Keep the CPU voltage below 1.55V and the temperatures below 65c or so (during load)
    Run Orthos for 30 minutes (a few hours?) to test for stability.
    Or you can run 3DMark 05 and 06.

    JumperFree Configuration Settings
    AI Overclocking: Manual
    CPU Ratio Control: Manual
    - Ratio CMOS Setting: 9
    FSB Frequency: 400
    PCI-E Frequency: 100
    DRAM Frequency: Anything near the 1155 mark
    DRAM Timing Control: Manual
    CAS# Latency: 5
    RAS# to CAS# Delay: 5
    RAS# Precharge: 5
    RAS# Activate to Precharge: 15
    TWR: AUTO
    TRFC: AUTO
    TWTR: AUTO
    TRRD: AUTO
    TRTP: AUTO
    DRAM Static Read Control: Disabled

    Transaction Booster: AUTO
    Clock Over-Charging Mode: AUTO

    CPU Spread Spectrum: Disabled
    PCIE Spread Spectrum: Disabled

    CPU Voltage: 1.45 (if it works, lower it little by little until it fails again) You need to find out how much voltage your CPU needs to reach a certain speed. If it doesn't work, well, you could try 1.5V but that's up to you!
    For 4ghz, you might need 1.55 or 1.6V which can shorten the life of your CPU. All up to you man! Or you could have a CPU that might not even require than much voltage.

    You have to test this yourself!

    CPU Voltage Reference: AUTO
    CPU Voltage Damper: Enabled
    CPU PLL Voltage: 1.50v (Tyr 1.6V for 4ghz)
    DRAM Voltage: 2.2V (or whatever OCZ recommends)
    FSB Termination Voltage: 1.40v
    North Bridge Voltage: 1.40v
    North Bridge Voltage Reference: AUTO
    South Bridge Voltage: AUTO

    Advance CPU Settings
    CPU Ratio Control: Manual
    - Ratio CMOS Setting: 9
    C1E Suppport: Disabled
    Max CPUID Value Limit: Disabled
    Vanderpool Technology: Disabled
    CPU TM Function: Disabled
    Execute Disable Bit: Disabled
    PECI: Enabled
     
  4. extreme22

    extreme22 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    thanks guys will keep u posted
     
  5. extreme22

    extreme22 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    thanks guys it the 4ghz range
     
  6. Peepaw

    Peepaw [H]Lite

    Messages:
    89
    Joined:
    May 15, 2005

    Screenshots please.;)
     
  7. wasupdog

    wasupdog n00b

    Messages:
    55
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    i'm running an e6850 with a p5k-e. i'm at 3.6ghz right now stable for over an hour in orthos on the stock voltage setting of 1.35v. vdroop reads out to about 1.3 or 1.32. lemme see if i can get 4ghz on stock voltage.
     
  8. extreme22

    extreme22 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    well today i was playing around with the fsb uped it at 460 cpu v are at 1.50
    so now i am at 4.15ghz

    i will post some screen shots when i get a chance as well
    i want to change my crapy tuniq fan with a Scythe S-FLEX SFF21F 16000rpms
    but what i am running into is fan control conection i wonder if there is a way to
    have that feature any ideas

    thanks