OpenVPN Site to site?

TType85

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2001
Messages
1,487
I am trying to figure out how to set this up.

I need to connect two offices up so our networks can see each other.

Office 1 is IP range 10.100.100.x (20/10 Cable)
Office 2 is IP range 10.150.0.x (100MB uplink)

Currently in Office 2 I have a server with Untangle on it and using OpenVPN I can connect to it from my machine and can see everything. I want to open this up so everyone in office 1 can see (and get files from) a server in office 2. Whats the easiest way to do this?

We have a bunch of Cisco switches, but I don't know what I am doing on them. Currently our provider for our connection between office 1 and our datacenter does this on their end, but my boss is wanting to be cheap and not pay for them to have to install another line. since office 2 is small.
 

goodcooper

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,768
easy as pie if you install another untangle box at office 1...

i would have made it the main box, and then connected office 2 to it, but that would mean you would be pulling files through office 2 when you're offsite... but with a 100mbps uplink, not really a problem...
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
easy as pie if you install another untangle box at office 1...

i would have made it the main box, and then connected office 2 to it, but that would mean you would be pulling files through office 2 when you're offsite... but with a 100mbps uplink, not really a problem...

Bingo.
 

TType85

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2001
Messages
1,487
Ok, so I just need to set up a 2nd Untangle and just hook it in to the current network then how do I set up site to site?
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
Ok, so I just need to set up a 2nd Untangle and just hook it in to the current network then how do I set up site to site?

make one the primary, probably best to leave that one at the site with the fastest connection. THEN put a second unit at second site, on the promary make it the server, export a config file in the opvpn then go to other site and import the file in vpn. easy as pie..
 

goodcooper

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,768
ok yea, leave the main box at the one with the fastest connection, reading comprehension fail on my part there...

well... half fail...
 
D

Deleted member 12106

Guest
I do site to site vpn. Please note, transferring filed=ftmfl. I just bought some nano stations to overcome this:)
 

YeOldeStonecat

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 19, 2004
Messages
11,330
Untangle as the edge device at Office
Untangle as the edge device on the public IP at the data center.
Site to site OpenVPN tunnel using Untangles built in OpenVPN module..and it's done. Untangles OpenVPN for router to router tunnels is the easiest I've ever setup...and it's rock solid.
 
D

Deleted member 12106

Guest
Untangle as the edge device at Office
Untangle as the edge device on the public IP at the data center.
Site to site OpenVPN tunnel using Untangles built in OpenVPN module..and it's done. Untangles OpenVPN for router to router tunnels is the easiest I've ever setup...and it's rock solid.

Truth. Been living it first hand.
 

goodcooper

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,768
Truth. Been living it first hand.

have to agree... got 20 locations now, easiest VPN setup EVAR, rarely ever goes down

not terribly looking forward to taking it down for pfsense, which is probably the exact opposite... but i REALLY need a partial mesh setup.... too many locations with 1 hub...
 

TType85

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2001
Messages
1,487
I'm finally getting back to work to try to get this up. On the Office 1 side I cannot admin the current router that connects between here and our datacenter in ATL. If I set up the 2nd untangle box on the network here can I still get the VPN working? (i'm a newbie with VPN)
 
Top