Odd Problem: Overclock 5970, lose x-fi sound

tigger1612

Limp Gawd
Hi Guys,

Interesting problem I have. I'm a desktop engineer by trade and I'm stumped. I've been able to run 1000/1050 on my ati 5970 for a while now under water with great temps and no issues. Now about 2 days ago, whenever I go into a game at ANY overclocked settings, my x-fi card will just cut out after about a minute or two sometimes even less. The only way to get the sound back is to reboot. But the same thing happens repeatedly. The only time I can keep sound is to run at default clocks. The game won't crash at all I just lose sound all together. I've even reformatted and that did nothing. Only thing I can think of is that my overclocking has caused the life of my 5970 to start down the quick road to death :) or maybe some sort of power issue is at play here. I'm going to try using the onboard sound next but just curious if anyone has heard of this before.

I know this won't be the most helpful to hear but I hate X-Fi foreasons just like this.

I've had similar X-Fi related problems with any machine I have ever installed an X-Fi into from random static at very loud noise levels occuring every hour or so after whch the sound is dead till a reboot(this issue has been coming back and forth with driver releases known as the 'Time Bomb' issue), to having the X-Fi sounds just not working on bootup at random requiring a restart, to firing of of my own guns being normal volume level and suddenly creating static/hissing/popping noises or irregularly loud volumes from the firing of my own gun compared to any previous or afterword shots. Almost like my character changed from shooting near his hip to lifting the gun to besides his ear and shot.