Nvidia GT 610 HDMI port not detecting SONY DAV DZ 510 receiver through HDMI

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs & Equipment' started by senthil_k23, Apr 21, 2017 at 11:48 AM.

  1. senthil_k23

    senthil_k23 n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Friday
    I have windows 7 (64 bit) PC with NVIDIA GEFORCE GT 610 card.When I connect the HDMI from GT 610 to SONY klv32ex400 (hdtv),windows detects the TV and gives stereo sound.Thats good.
    But I want 5.1 sound,So I disconnect the cable from HDTV and connect it to my SONY DAV DZ 510 home theatre receiver.Now my windows is not detecting the receiver and gives error as HDMI AUDIO is unplugged.
    Please suggest a method through EDID OVERRIDE to detect the home theatre through HDMI and get 5.1 sound..
    Motherboard on PC is DG31PR.
     
  2. Verge

    Verge [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,877
    Joined:
    May 27, 2001
    is it set to passthrough, if so it won't show the reciever.

    If you are playing HD audio you should bitstream anyway
     
  3. senthil_k23

    senthil_k23 n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Friday
    No it is not passthrough.
    When Home theatre receiver is connected via HDMI,its purpose is set only for sound (as the receiver has only one HDMI port).So video from HDTV is sent via a DVI port.
    Actually it is not at all even detected,then how to bitstream it.
     
  4. senthil_k23

    senthil_k23 n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Friday
    I tried audio Bitstream.But still no sound output from hometheatre.
    Please help me with EDID OVERRIDE and solve the problem.
     
  5. Nenu

    Nenu Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    16,905
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    2 things
    Make sure the receiver is set to receive from the port you are connecting to. This should make the device appear in gfx card control panel.
    Go into gfx card control panel and enable (mirror or extend) the display to the receiver.

    It should now pass audio to it after you tell Windows to use the HDMI device of your receiver for audio.
    You may need to run the config to get it to send more than stereo.
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2017 at 1:58 PM