Notfred Folding Virtual Appliance Released!

nomad8u

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2008
Released yesterday... just downloaded and will be trying this out after a "snapshot" of my 2 running VM Notfred CD images and a shutdown/reboot for some more Vcore stability goodness...

Hopefully this will backup to USB properly. It looks like you can change/setup options at boot time. Forum thread. Guess I gotta sing up for yet another forum...:p

0.png

I'm new to VMware, what does this do exactly, autoinstall F@H in a VM?

This is for some EASY folding with VMWare. Before, you could use the CD generated image to setup a VM, but VMWare wouldn't pickup a USB stick properly for backups, so if your WU yakked, there was no backup as it was using a virtual CD image and didn't preserve the backup... If you "powered off" or "shut down" the VM, same problem.

This looks like a virtual disk image, so hopefully it'll save backups there and be able to restart cleanly.

I'm starting one now, so I'll have better info in a half hour or so....;)

0.png

Thanks for the information. Can I use this to install a VM image on a hard disk if I prefer that over a USB stick?

Been running this since early this morning. Just as easy to use as the CD or USB stick version. No complaints here. Just praise! I love that I won't lose WUs anymore or dump half completed WUs.

Thanks for the information. Can I use this to install a VM image on a hard disk if I prefer that over a USB stick?
Don't think so. But what does a 256mb - 1gb USB stick run you? $10-$15.

Yes you can IF you have an OS such as Windows XP installed, and VMware Server (probably player too but I'm not sure) the zip file you D/L has 2 files in it. A 512meg Virtual IDE Disk Image (which beside the 16meg OS, will save backups!!!) and the corresponding "vmx" file that contains the configs.
I don't believe this is intended to be run standalone as a HD image..

0.png