Notebook will not connect to internet

I have a Dell 4150 work notebook that will not connect to the internet at home. I have tried both wired and wireless connections to my router. It connects to my network but not the internet. I don't know what to do. This just happened recently, because I have been using it at home for a couple years. They use a proxy server at work so I always have to go to internet options and uncheck the box that says use a proxy server for your lan. Can somebody give me any advice. Let me know if more info is needed.

It may be your browser itself or your winsock2 has become corrupt. Try this from a command window
netsh winsock reset catalog
or Try LSPfix http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.htm
or try another browser

also check the obvious like DNS and gateway settings by running ipconfig/all in a command window

I am having the same problem with fire fox. Everything looked ok in ipconfig, what should I be looking for? Netsh winsock reset catalog did not help. Any other ideas?

did you try the lspfix I mentioned
or there is another utility tcp/ip repair here http://www.xp-smoker.com/freeware.html
or read more to diagnose and fix here http://support.microsoft.com/kb/811259
or do a google search for more articles here http://www.google.com/search?client...en&q=winsock+tcp/ip+repair&btnG=Google+Search

can you ping an internet ip address such as 64.233.187.99 (google.com)

what are your default gateway and dns server settings, do they match the settings on other working computers?

Alright heres something a little weird. The dns servers were the same. But the working machine did not have a default gateway. Yes I tried the isp fix. I dont think this is the winsock thing because my pc does not have any of those symptoms. Is there anything that could be going on besides that that is messing with my internet connection?

Not knowing what commands that lspfix utility runs behind the scenes...I've found this TCP/Winsock rebuild utility to work well...