Noob - Folding Questions

distortion69

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
337
Friend of mine is letting me fold on his PC, and I will be folding on my new PC once it arrives in the mail.. I don't know why but all of a sudden I am interested in doing it.

However, I can't seem to get the darned thing to do anything. The pc is a x2 3600 @ 2.7ghz right now. Both are setup to each ID (1 & 2), and in separate directories and are ready to go.. it logins in, downloads some stuff, gets to going and then shows this screen with no activity:

0 out of 2000000 stages

It never increases or actually counts anything.. any idea's? Sorry for the noobness, but I'd really like to get this pc up and folding for my first points!

Thanks,
Josh
 

Rebel44

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
2,284
Which client is he using?? Could you post records from his Fahlog.txt file?
 

distortion69

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
337
He will be under my username:

"Launch directory: C:\fold1
Executable: C:\fold1\FAH504-Console -local.exe


[07:50:10] - Ask before connecting: Yes
[07:50:10] - User name: distortion69 (Team 33)
[07:50:10] - User ID: 4DEB7806502E190F
[07:50:10] - Machine ID: 1
[07:50:10]
[07:50:10] Loaded queue successfully.
[07:50:10] + Benchmarking ...
[07:50:14]
[07:50:14] + Processing work unit
[07:50:14] Core required: FahCore_78.exe
[07:50:14] Core found.
[07:50:14] Working on Unit 01 [July 22 07:50:14]
[07:50:14] + Working ...
[07:50:14]
[07:50:14] *------------------------------*
[07:50:14] Folding@Home Gromacs Core
[07:50:14] Version 1.90 (March 8, 2006)
[07:50:14]
[07:50:14] Preparing to commence simulation
[07:50:14] - Looking at optimizations...
[07:50:14] - Files status OK
[07:50:14] - Expanded 239656 -> 1191289 (decompressed 497.0 percent)
[07:50:14]
[07:50:14] Project: 2527 (Run 88, Clone 2, Gen 38)
[07:50:14]
[07:50:14] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[07:50:14] Entering M.D.
[07:50:35] (Starting from checkpoint)
[07:50:35] Protein: p2527_Am22-43
[07:50:35]
[07:50:35] Writing local files
[07:50:35] Extra SSE boost OK.
[07:50:35] Writing local files
[07:50:35] Completed 0 out of 2000000 steps (0)

Folding@Home Client Shutdown.

It sat at 0 for 20 minutes or so. Finally I hit ctrl-c and ended it.. I will be back over there tomorrow, any suggestions on things to try?

Josh
 

ICE_9

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
3,459
Looks normal to me. If you use the "-verbosity 9" flag on the command line and you will see the checkpoint writes. That will help you identify that it is working. Sometimes it takes an hour or so for each percent. Be patient.
 

Xilikon

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2008
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
14,952
Yes, it could be up to 1-2 hours per step depending on WU. Just let it run for a few hours then check back.

 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
p2527 is worth 186 points.
I'm only folding with the SMP client at the moment so I've lost track of the fast & slow CPU protiens but at around 2 Points per Hour per Ghz is a good average speed.
So 186 points / 2 PpHpG / 2.7 Ghz = 34.44 hours to crunch the full protien.
34.44 hours /100 frames x 60 mins = 20.66 Mins per Frame.
If its a fast protien your looking at ~15 mins a frame.
If its a slow one then your looking at ~25 mins a frame.

Keep folding as you probably almost finished the first frame when you switched it off.

Luck ......... :D
 

distortion69

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
337
Haha.. Figures that'd be what happened..

I got it setup today, let it ran like you guys said and it worked.

Hopefully I'll have my pc set up Friday.. Is there anyway to make it vary loads depending upon usage? I'd love for it to kick back if I'm playing bf2142 or what not, instead of setting it at 50% on each core.

Thanks again,
Josh
 

Xilikon

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2008
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
14,952
Haha.. Figures that'd be what happened..

I got it setup today, let it ran like you guys said and it worked.

Hopefully I'll have my pc set up Friday.. Is there anyway to make it vary loads depending upon usage? I'd love for it to kick back if I'm playing bf2142 or what not, instead of setting it at 50% on each core.

Thanks again,
Josh

Normally, they are very good at releasing cpu cycles to other applications if they need the power. It can even go idle if you need 100% cpu so don't worry.

If you are worried about losing cycles, just disable it (stop the service or CTRL-C on the command line prompt depending on clients) and restart when you are done.

 

fenderltd

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2007
Joined
Feb 10, 2004
Messages
2,432
All of my boxes on SMP or console are used mostly from 8am-7pm all day any no problems. I never turn off my clients no matter what I am doing, gaming, encoding etc. As long as the system is stable shouldn't have an issue. Trial and error is the best way to find out what works for your system. With the console version, I never lost a WU even on a fail and had to restart without using thr Ctrl+C. The SMP client is a different story and I have lost a few WU's without using Ctrl+C Let us know your outcome:D
 

powersurge

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
311
Rather than starting a new thread I thought I'd ask here. I'm new to folding (just started) and I was wondering what the average WU time is? ATM I'm using my PS3 and a laptop (but I'll be adding my main desktop once I get around to replacing the video cards that died recently).

The thing is while my PS3 can do a WU in about 8 hours my laptop says its current WU will take 105 DAYS is this correct? I know its not the greatest cpu (1.4ghz P-M) but I would of thought it could at least crunch what the PS3 can do in about a week or 2.

I didn't expect the laptop to be able to crunch a ton but at that rate it seems its a waste of electricity and I should just think about putting together a spare desktop out of spare parts.

edit: Yep I'm a true noob. I just noticed that it finished about 100 'frames' and the time went from 100+ days to 3 days.
 

magoo

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
14,489
Your laptop is probably running the graphic client. When it starts a WU it always says that shit.
Once it runs a couple of frames it comes into reality and gives you the truth. Normally a generous sized WU will take "a couple two-treee dayz" to finish.
 

Xilikon

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2008
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
14,952
Rather than starting a new thread I thought I'd ask here. I'm new to folding (just started) and I was wondering what the average WU time is? ATM I'm using my PS3 and a laptop (but I'll be adding my main desktop once I get around to replacing the video cards that died recently).

The thing is while my PS3 can do a WU in about 8 hours my laptop says its current WU will take 105 DAYS is this correct? I know its not the greatest cpu (1.4ghz P-M) but I would of thought it could at least crunch what the PS3 can do in about a week or 2.

I didn't expect the laptop to be able to crunch a ton but at that rate it seems its a waste of electricity and I should just think about putting together a spare desktop out of spare parts.

edit: Yep I'm a true noob. I just noticed that it finished about 100 'frames' and the time went from 100+ days to 3 days.

As you noticed, as soon as it complete 3 frames, it will give a more accurate estimate so don't be shocked by those inconsistencies ;)

Welcome to the [H]orde :)

 
Top