No sata driver or device to update Nvme?

zalazin

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 12, 2000
Messages
1,632
I have a tigerlake laptop with NO sata drivers or devices just an Adata 4tb and a samsung 2tb Nvme.Neither one can be updated because sata drivers are required to update even the NVme.. how do I update the firmware?
 

zalazin

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 12, 2000
Messages
1,632
Wow every time I post anything I get grief.read what I said IT TAKES SATA DRIVERS TO UPDATE ANY NVme ssd. doesn't matter the make or model of drive or computer. If the machine has no sata devices or sata drivers you CANNOT update Nvme firmware....don't know how to make this any clearer, I also emailed Samsung , A-data and Asus. You think I got any answer... yeah right....
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2003
Messages
599
To get help, you need to provide details. I'd bet my entire 401k that Tigerlake makes more than ONE laptop. How can anyone look up specs and provide assistance without knowing any details?
 

zalazin

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 12, 2000
Messages
1,632
no you havent. give the make and exact model if you want anyone to attempt to help. pretty sure youve been told that multiple times.
here is every detail the laptop is an Asus Tuff Dash F15, 11370h cpu, RTX3060 24GB ddr4 3200. 2TB Samsung Nvme, A-data SG 40 4TB Nvme. 3 Type A usb 3. one c port with thunderbolt 4 capabilities.one Ethernet gigabit port and wifi. installed both Samsung Magician and Adata toolbox. Samsung toolbox at least sees the drive but due to no sata won't update. the A-data ssd toolbox immediately exists saying no sata devices.. I emailed Asus Adata and Samsung heard nothing back ...... Oh yes Win 10 21h1 with all current drivers and updates. I don't see how the non drive, non sata stuff will in any way have any bearing on the issue.... But hey have at it .....PS there is no other drive ports on the machine....I even plugged in a UASP drive (USB Attached Scsi protocol) external usb 3 to usb trim enabled cable and a Sata use into a USB 3 port hoping that the scsi protocol would also be activated for the Nvme, Alas it still says no scsi device....Now prove to me that someone out there could do more that I already did and make it work...
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
31,694
Now prove to me that someone out there could do more that I already did and make it work...
youre asking for help, people are wanting to help but need info, not attitude. youve been told this several times. i know youre frustrated, but WE didnt cause it.

edit: ok, which sub-model?!
1631738694009.png
 
Last edited:

zalazin

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 12, 2000
Messages
1,632
I did not blame anyone here, granted I do get a bit hyper. Now I say again I'm sorry for offending anyone. I would appreciate any info that anyone knows that might help..
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2005
Messages
705
Here is what you need to complete a firmware update on that machines nvme drive without removing it. Alternative and likely easier you could install it in another windows machine and use samsung magician software. You may need to reinstall windows if option 2 is used and that will require preloading Intel rapid storage driver before Win10 will recognize the sata controller on your laptop. I don't know which is drive is your boot drive so that will also affect which method is best to use. Hope that helps.
 

zalazin

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 12, 2000
Messages
1,632
From what I read at this site I don't understand how this VMD even relates to my issue seems only for Intel ssd hardware..https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/download/19356/28288/intel-volume-management-device-intel-vmd-esxi-tools.html
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
31,694
From what I read at this site I don't understand how this VMD even relates to my issue seems only for Intel ssd hardware..https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/download/19356/28288/intel-volume-management-device-intel-vmd-esxi-tools.html
its part of your chipset and was just a suggestion as it adds more nvme functionality. just like last time, youre probably either going to have to accept laptop limitations and not update, or stick it in you tower to update.

"enables hot swap replacement of NVMe SSDs from the PCIe bus without shutting down the system while standardized LED management helps provide quick identification of SSD status. This commonality brings enterprise reliability, availability, and serviceability (RAS) features to NVMe SSDs, enabling you to deploy next-generation storage with confidence."
 

zalazin

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 12, 2000
Messages
1,632
its part of your chipset and was just a suggestion as it adds more nvme functionality. just like last time, youre probably either going to have to accept laptop limitations and not update, or stick it in you tower to update.

"enables hot swap replacement of NVMe SSDs from the PCIe bus without shutting down the system while standardized LED management helps provide quick identification of SSD status. This commonality brings enterprise reliability, availability, and serviceability (RAS) features to NVMe SSDs, enabling you to deploy next-generation storage with confidence."
KInd of get what you said but I don't see Intel allowing a third party ssd to work.... I do have MY Aorus laptop which has 2 nVme and a SATA PORT.... Guess if I need to will just do it the hard way....by the way thanks for the help....
 
Top