new to mac: go for MBP or MB or wait for conference?

shiek

Limp Gawd
Hello!

Im completely new to apple, and i want to start dabbling in its supposed superiority :)

I was considering a MBP since its new specs are fantastic, however, mobility is a high priority, so a beefed up MB is what im leaning more towards.

Coming from a developer background (and just overall windows power user) should i go ahead an buy the 13"MB or wait till the end of this week when maybe a smaller MBP might be announced at the apple conference (and hence, my "mobility requirement" may be met)

what do you guys think? MB or wait till end of conference? im itching to buy. thanks all.

They both got updated within the last month - WWDC will be for other stuff (iMac, iPhone, etc.).

I would definitely say and go for the MBP. I bought the 13" Black Macbook which is the best one you can get and after 2 days I regretted not getting the Pro. Since they updated the specs it gave me all the reason to do the exchange.

I too hate big laptops and think the whole reason in getting one should be their mobility, but let me tell you they are THIN! Even being a 15" widescreen they are indeed very mobile. Not to mention you get a higher resolution.

Even if they announce a 13" MBP at WWDC it might be another 5-6 months before you see it. If you can wait that long then go for it. I will probably end up selling mine if the 13" is released...

If any new hardware gets announced at WWDC, it will be during Steve's keynote, which starts tomorrow at 1pm EST.

That said, I doubt that the MBs will be updated given that they just got an update just under a month ago (albeit a very minor one).