New to folding, help please

Frostex

2[H]4U
I'm new to folding and everyone has done a great job of making it about as unlcear as it can be, the [H] folding website is a maze of FAQ, dead links and missing crucial information.

So far I've downloaded [email protected] and I'm running that as team 33 for [H]

It's only using 50% of core 2 and about 20% of the other cores, it this really running at max capacity? Is this right?

I've also started a download for "unicluster_express_3_2_0_0-rh5-x86_64.bin.tar" which is whats recommended in the thread on this forum for ati cards. I have 2x 4870 in crossfire, will this work on both cards?

Can I run both at once?

Is there anything else I need to know?

If your rig is what is in the sig here is what you want to do (if you want max production and points)

Run (for starters) one of the SMP clients (can be found on Stanfords page here

While you are there get the GPU2 client and download that. This is the new client that will run on your vid card.

What all this is: The SMP is made to take advantage of multi core systems (what you have is a single thread program, hence low total CPU use) The GPU will use the video card and some of the CPU to produce even more points.

please if anything is unclear, post.

(we will probably need some one other than me to get both vid cards running).

Your link is broken.... it thinks it's an email address.....

I didn't create it as a link i merely typed the exe name :/

Anyhow I'm running the 6.12 beta8 one now which seems to be making a lot more use of my CPU, 50-60% of each core and seems to keep my primary GPU at 100% workload according to ATI's CCC.

But it's not using my 2nd GPU

It claims between 620 iter/sec and about 900 at the moment, is that right?

I didn't create it as a link i merely typed the exe name :/