New lab switch

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by ChRoNo16, Mar 11, 2019.

  1. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,346
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Need a new switch, must be gigabit, rackmount, and managed.


    quiet and non power hungry is a plus, Needs SFp's I want to do fiber for my media server, 10gb is a possibility if someone can help me figure it out cheap.


    Thoughts?
     
  2. Motley

    Motley 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,444
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2019
  3. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,396
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Pick up any 24+ port used switch on eBay?
     
  4. BlueLineSwinger

    BlueLineSwinger Gawd

    Messages:
    586
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    It's not quite that simple. Transfers to/from the server with a single client will not utilize multiple connections of the link aggregation, and will cap at 1 Gb. This is the case even if both the client and server are set up with link aggregations. However, if you have multiple clients hitting the server then the transfers should be spread across the link aggregation (with no one going above 1 Gb).

    But if all the clients are on 1 Gb links (or wireless) then a link aggregation for the server could be a nice little boost when multiple are hitting it simultaneously (assuming the server itself can keep up).
     
  5. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,346
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Not looking for an ALL 10gb switch, but having 10gb SFP may not be bad. Trying to stay around 100 mark i realize that 10gb prolly wont happen. Would like enterprise managed, but not required i guess
     
  6. FNtastic

    FNtastic [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,270
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Cisco SG-300 can be had for pretty cheap. Managed and L3 capable. Gigabit. Very fast, and reliable.
     
    Spartacus09 likes this.
  7. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,346
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Anyone know the difference between HP 1810-24G and 2810-24G?
     
  8. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,346
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
  9. Haven

    Haven I Only Post Important Stuff

    Messages:
    6,052
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    1000?

    I think the 1810-24G is web managed (browser based management only), and the 2810 has Web, CLI, SNMP, etc.
     
  10. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 Gawd

    Messages:
    695
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    We use the 48-port POE version of the Cisco SG-300 they're older, but reliable for our access layer.

    You can pickup the 28port non-poe for about $100 on the bay.
     
    FNtastic likes this.
  11. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,346
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    I just worry about managing the Cisco I cant do CLI, also when I looked I wasnt finding them for 100 they were all over 100
     
  12. FNtastic

    FNtastic [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,270
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    If you're still having trouble finding one in the coming weeks, let me know. I'm going to be letting go of a Cisco SG300-10 here soon.
     
  13. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,396
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Why not?

    Switch configuration isn't that involved.
     
    Spartacus09 likes this.