New IT student hardup for employment, need some advice

Flagg

Limp Gawd
I have been working with computers and networking for almost 12 years, and have been doing sidework for it for nearly 5 years. I was in the telecom industry for 5 years as well installing/troubleshooting sonet rings, DS1/DS3 circuit and end use CPE. The telecom industry took a big crash and as a result i was laid off. Having seen the writeing on the wall I went to my local technical college and got the "Networking Technican Certificate" I am also taking my Net+ and possibly my CCNA. However its come to the point where I need a job, and I am having a hard time getting interviews. I was hoping some of the more veteran IT guys/gals out there could give me some advice. Should I include my telecom experiences on my resume? Should I drop that and stick with what I learned in school? Are there key things that employers in the IT industry look for in a resume? I am extremely frustrated and cannot for the life of me figure out what I am doing wrong. Thanks in advance.

p.s any employers looking for an entry-intermediate level employee in the washington state are let me know :)

p.p.s. I was looking at the linux+ cert and was curious if this is a sought after certifcation for employers??

I would definately include the telecom experience if I were you. Unfortunately I am in Atlanta, but we may be doing some hiring in the coming months. Currently I work in a group troubleshooting Frame and ATM circuits up to DS3, Cisco routers of all types, and Nortel passport switches. If you are interested send me your resume and when the openings come up I can submit it for you. No promises of course, but I have been told that there will be two slots opening up soon...

Flagg said:
Should I include my telecom experiences on my resume?

YES! Definitely include that telecom experience.

Are there key things that employers in the IT industry look for in a resume?