New HDD - Spin Up Time low, problematic?

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Hello,

Recently bought a new Western Digital WD2002FAEX 2TB Black HDD. I have placed it inside of my PC and formatted it through Windows 7 (quick format). So far I have powered it on twice. Doing a quick error scan with HD Tune brings up no issues.

Though I noticed the Spin Up Time is rated rather low in Crystal Disk and HD tune (I assumed low is bad).I then ran a check with Speed Fan and it gave me some worrying results:

faex2tbspeedfan.jpg

wdfaex2tbcrysthdtune.jpg

wdfaex2tbbench.jpg

Does it look like my drive might fail early? I plan on using it as an OS/everything drive and would like it to last 4 or more years like my current WD Black. If this looks like a problematic drive I can exchange it with Amazon.

Is there anything else I should test before sending it back or cloning my OS onto it?

Well I have a hitachi 750gb that I've been using for about 5 years now, and it takes a solid 5 seconds to spin up, but it is still running solid *fingers crossed*. I would wait a few days and see if the spin up time improves, and if not you may want to exchange it to gain some peace of mind. I personally wouldn't replace it, but if you don't have a backup drive then it might be a smart move to get a new one.

Posted from Hardforum.com App for Android

Does the drive seem to take long to spinup? A raw value of 0 seems like the drive is not recording spinup time since that would be impossible for a physical disk to take 0 time to spinup.

I've seen "New" disks show caution or "BAD" in crystaldisk with spin-up-time errors.

If you reboot or use them for a while it seems to go away..

I think its crystaldiskinfo being decieving. If thats the only issue I dont' think there is a problem with your disk.