New build locks up.

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor Systems' started by Austion, Feb 23, 2019.

  1. Austion

    Austion n00b

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    I built a new mini itx system that runs 24/7 that runs camera software. No over clocking everything is at stock speeds on win 10 with all new hardware.

    The system randomly hard locks mouse/keyboard do nothing have to flip the power switch to get it working again. The win logs have no info only showing the error from me turning the power off.

    I have formatted the ssd reinstalled win 10 and have the same issue. I have tried stress testing with prime95, 3dmark and others for hours and it does not lock up yet I can be just surfing the web and it hard locks. The other times it locked up I was not using it can take a day or a week before it locks up.

    Had the security software running on a previous build for around 5 years with no problems. New build specs.

    I7 8700 non k
    Corsair rgb ram xmp profile 16gb
    Corsair 850 watt psu
    Gigbyte mother board
    Using intel hd graphics
    Samsung evo ssd

    I don’t know what else to try besides new hardware. It’s strange that stress testing it does not lock up but does when only running by itself the software is not that intense using only around 30% of the cpu and 4gb of memory. I have a extra psu laying around and will start with that trouble is it will take a week to know if it makes a difference.

    Any ideas would be great,
     
  2. Elf_Boy

    Elf_Boy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,253
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    That's wide open.

    PSU - maybe
    Ram or who knows what - maybe
    EMI/Line noise - Where is it plugged in? What else is on the same fuse?
     
  3. darrpara

    darrpara Gawd

    Messages:
    687
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Could do a quick Windows + R -> mdsched.exe to run a mem check?

    Also, I had a problem with windows 10 where the "advanced power plan" was set to turn off my hard disk and was turning my SSD off..........
     
  4. Brian_B

    Brian_B 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,261
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Start with internal graphics and one stick of RAM - strip it down to just the bare hardware needed to boot and run.

    If it still reboots there, then take it completely apart and put it back together, starting with the stripped down bare hardware.

    In my experience, these sort of problems are either bad memory (either a bad stick or a bad slot on the motherboard), a bad cable, or installation error (screw under motherboard, loose cable, improperly seated card/DIMM, etc)
     
  5. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,919
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    There have been a few cases posted in recent memory where a small bump in Vmem fixed these types of things.
    You may also want to try manual Vcore settings, turn off all power save, etc.

    Make sure BIOS is current.

    .
     
  6. Austion

    Austion n00b

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    Today i switched out the PSU and cables also re-set the RAM time will tell but i'm doubtful it will fix the issue! It's strange how it does not do it under full load but at idle.

    This build is my first Gigabyte motherboard, i usually buy Asus but they wanted double the price.

    I ran mdsched.exe no errors found.
     
  7. Austion

    Austion n00b

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019

    It took a week and a half for it to lock up again!

    I used a different PSU, reset the RAM new install of windows.

    I may just buy a new MB and try again!

    BTW why does asus not have any micro atx boards with a display port? They do but gaming boards.
     
  8. BitMaster

    BitMaster Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    368
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    My system had hard locks for 2-10 secs but then recovered to normal operation. It took me months to find the reason. Maybe yours is similar.

    Intel IRST has a well known bug that may affect your system. Any IRST driver later than 16.2 does trigger that on my rig, that's why I am still on 16.2.

    Give it a try, a simple driver....
     
  9. Austion

    Austion n00b

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    I never installed Intel IRST my driver version is 10.01 from Microsoft dated 6/21/2006

    I've been going at this since Jan. It can be anything...
     
  10. infinity9

    infinity9 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    202
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Have you done any stability testing with memtest or something processor based?
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  11. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,201
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    bump your ram voltage by .1v and memtest it.
     
    Spartacus likes this.
  12. deaedius

    deaedius Gawd

    Messages:
    914
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Maybe worth updating the bios and leave the system in the default bios state after the update and see how the system runs. If you have updated the bios, I would default it and leave all settings at default and then run tests again. There isn't enough info about the type of memory (speed and specific model).
     
  13. Austion

    Austion n00b

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    I have ran Prime95 for a few hours RAM and CPU test, bios is using the newest bios.

    RAM is CORSAIR Vengeance 8x2

    • DDR4 2666 (PC4 21300)
    • Timing 16-18-18-35
    • CAS Latency 16
    • Voltage 1.2V
     
  14. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,482
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    to me it sounds like the memory in the motherboard is just not able to run stable 100% of the time...try down clocking the ram or relax the timings a bit. its weird cause you can do all kinds of memory test an pass, but that doesnt really rule out the memory. It could also be the dam motherboard isn't stable for shit....its why i dont scrimp on quality boards.

    See if it will stabilize at slower ram speeds or get better ram. Try an see if its possible to use ram on the qvl list as well.
     
  15. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,201
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
     
  16. infinity9

    infinity9 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    202
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    You could have a bad processor. Hard locks are tough to diagnose without one extra of each item. Hard lock is usually bad component. Memory problems cause reboots, program crashes etc along with the possible hard lock.
     
  17. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,482
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    I have seen memory cause freezes quite a few times, well in my own experience. (bsod's as well) is why im reluctant to over clock ram very often.....the glitches are so random when they happen
     
  18. Austion

    Austion n00b

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    I ran memtest it found 0 errors in 48 of 48 test took almost 4 hours to run! I can try to boost the voltage by .1 if the MB will let me not sure it supports any thing since it was a cheap board (Gigabyte b360m d3h)

    I'm surprised no one has thought it could be the MB.
     
  19. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,201
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    it could be mobo but try ruling out other things first. bad boards and cpus arent that common.
     
  20. infinity9

    infinity9 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    202
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    It definitely could. I really don't think its your ram. But thats hard to diagnose without having a spare.
     
  21. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,482
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    actually i did say it could be a cheap pos board earlier
     
  22. BaK2BaK

    BaK2BaK [H]Lite

    Messages:
    124
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    I would first have tried running Win10 in Safe mode or even better a Linux live USB (Mint is my fav) to be sure the problem is hardware related and not Win10 (some faulty driver, power plan, hibernating, ...).
    Actually I would have checked other input devices first ;)