network design help needed

skot

Limp Gawd
I am fairly new to designing networks and for a college assignment I need to design a network for a small company. There are 15 desktops that need Fast Ethernet/100Base-T and 5 pc's that need multimode fiber to connect to 2 servers.

My question is, do i need just one switch for this? I'm a little confused about how switches work and what is needed. I've been doing some reading and research, but I thought I would also get some advice from you guys.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Strange setup imo with the fiber and you'd probably have to look at very high end switches just to get a module for the fiber.

You could do it with one switch that is chassis based (meaning its a big box and you can put in multiple blades of 100baseT and fiber).I don't know what financial constraints are in your design, but that would be one way to do it.

Or you could design it with 1 24 port swich and use 5 fiber to copper transceivers. (not the best design but you could...)

Like Zlash said, that is kind of an odd design, having pc's that use fiber as their connection rather than copper. (Except Flecom's setup... which if i recall.. is all fiber:D )

I agree it is a strange setup, but it is a hypothetical situation, so there are also no finacial constraints. I'm just trying to find the best way to do this setup. The reason for the fiber is because "of increased level of electrical interference created by motors and other equipment in the production and shipping areas. "

So a switch that is chassis based is the best solution for this?

Or you could hire a consultant that specializes in these types of network installs. Seriously, if you want it done right I suggest bringing in a pro. No offence, but there is really no reason to take the matters into your own hands. The cost of a consultant is usually far less over the life of the network compared to when its build by a novice. And by your own admission you're a novice.