Need URGENT help! This is not a drill! IT problems

Clockworks

Supreme [H]ardness
Story time.

I work at Office Depot during the weekends because I'm in college. Last saturday, I had business customers come in looking for computers and other components. I spent almost an hour with them until they thought it would be a good idea to offer me a job as an IT personel for their business branch here in Wisconsin. I have very little experience with networking but I can diagnose almost any given hardware and most software problems. I explained that to them but they were still interest in hire me also for the fact that I speak Portuguese (they do a lot of business with Brazil). I agreed to help them out in any possible way that I could.

Now here's the issue. I want to help them but I don't want to look like a moron when I have to do something. To make it even worse, they are going to talk to HP tomorrow but I cannot be there to give my advice. I am writing a Word document specifying what type of questions they should ask since I am not there.

Here are my questions:
What questions should they ask from HP?
Anything I should read as far as a crash course in IT?

t00thless said:
your first question is too broad for me to answer. are they talking about buying computers from them? servers? need more info, please.

you are probably going to get a lot of different answers for your second question, but i would start with network+ stuff. here is a site with some free reading:

http://www.mcmcse.com/comptia/network/networkplus.shtml

Sorry for not specifying it before, I e-mailed them to ask what they are buying and they answered with: printers, copy machines, computers, servers...

Next question, For how many people? The difference between networking a couple of computers in a work group and putting together a domain can be tricky but if you are a quick study and already got your hardware down it shouldnt be to bad.