need some new speakers

itachi183

Limp Gawd
Hey, I've had these Klipsch Pro Media Ultra 2.0's for the past 2 years, and for about a year now the left speaker would fade in and out, and I would have to tap the volume controll for minutes untill it comes in clear again. But now it's finally just not working anything, so I need a new pair of speakers.

I use speakers for game,music,movies (uh, is there anything else you could use them for? lol)
I had been looking at these:

Logitech Z-2300

Klipsch Pro Media 2.1

Bose Campion 3

Swans M200

Now, most of those I listed have a SUB with them, I've never used a sub before and not sure if I'll like it, I do like the base from my 2.0s current though.

I have Realtek Onboard Audio, does that make a difference in the sound quality with these speakers?

oh and my budgets around 250$ any ideas?

Erasing 'Bose' from your mind.... Complete.

I had the Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 set for several years. Sold them recently for $100. Great computer speakers, but a little lacking on mids and the highs were a little tinny. I hear the Swans are even better for the price, but the sub has to go between the satellites (whereas the Klipsch sub goes on the floor near a wall). I can't stand Logitech's audio solutions. Muddy bass, tinny highs.

My current 2.0 klipsch's has the sub between the satellites, and I kinda like it like that lol, not sure how I would like a hole sub on the floor.

Anyway does a soundcard make a difference? I mean, say I get the 2.1 Klipsch, and use them with my onboard (realtek HD onboard) will it be holding back the potential with of the speakers/sound, would I notice a difference if I buy a soundcard? lol

What's your sound card? Your onboard audio could be better. My onboard is better than my Audigy 2 ZS (for sale, by the way!), so that's what I've been using. If you have a modern sound card, such as an X-Fi card, that's probably what you'd use.